Yes, You May Wear Pajamas Permanently

My children do not like to get dressed.

This goes against the grain. (My grain that is, not theirs.)

I like things done in a certain well ordered manner.

They often disagree.

I win. Because, I’m the Mom. ‘Nuff said.

Today, I re-evaluate.

I realized that this week I haven’t washed nearly as much laundry as usual. Today I actually washed NO laundry.

Let’s back track for a moment, on any given (normal) day I will wash at least three loads of laundry.

Today I simply removed one load from the dryer.

There is the start of a load waiting in the laundry room. I do not wash loads unless they are FULL (often over-full) because it saves water and energy that way. I can actually see my laundry room floor.

I did a little Happy-Dance.

Then I realized, this is because my children have been staying in their pajamas all week. When they do put something on other than their PJ’s, it’s swimsuits to play in the pool. Those swimsuits (and the towels) then get hung up to dry and re-used the following day.

Mommy was wrong. You may stay in your pajamas all day long. I don’t care if you wear the same ones for a week straight. Just please, put clean undies on every now and then. 🙂

Green Tip???? Don’t you get it? Just stay in your jams. That’s it. Save the world by washing less laundry. (Ok, maybe not the world. You will save a little water, some soap, energy and Mum’s sanity.)

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Kids and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yes, You May Wear Pajamas Permanently

  1. A beautiful plan that saves water, electricity and work all at the same time.

    Brilliant!

  2. Kelsey says:

    haha Love it! We have been doing the same thing!

  3. Lol…EXCELLENT plan!! Almost as good as ds living in one pair of swim shorts ALL WINTER!! The kid is unnatural..

  4. Meg says:

    I knew there was a reason the kids and I stay in our jammies! Seriously, when they do, I think to myself “less laundry I have to do, yay!” If no one is going anywhere, what does it matter?

  5. learning2recycle says:

    We use comfortable clothes in my house. Instead of buying pajamas, I get playclothes of jersey material w/elastic waistbands. The nice thing about this is he doesn’t have to change out of PJs in the morning but still looks presentable enough when we have surprise guests.

  6. Erin says:

    I admire the ingenuity and I think I may steal your idea.

    I have to say, however… Three full loads a day?! Holy cats! I have seven children and I really only have to do two or so loads a day plus diapers every second or third day. Wow.

  7. Erin…

    We reach three loads most days because I have bedding to wash almost daily (and if Little Critter is having an off day, sometimes I wash hers more than once in a day!), we also have football gear, dance clothing and Oregon Dad’s workout clothes (ewwwww) to contend with.

    Often the kids will go through two outfits in a day. Even if their school clothing is dirty, I make them change before going out to play in the mud. I don’t want the school clothes ruined! So, I usually end up with a nice set of clothes and a play set from each of the four younger kids each day.

    And that teenager! I think she fails to put her clean laundry away and recycles it in the wash without even checking. I don’t know how she produces so much dirty laundry. I have gone over some tips with her, yet again. If its not dirty, but doesn’t smell fresh… toss it in the dryer with half a Mrs. Meyer’s dryer sheet for 10-15 minutes. 🙂 Hopefully she will catch on soon!

Leave a comment