Win This AWESOME Recycled Back To School Package!

This Contest is CLOSED. Thanks to all who entered. Check back for upcoming give-aways!

Look what I found… this is titillating.

Photobucket

Why is this so exciting to me? You see some silly old juice pouches. I see a fabulous way to reuse something that has thus far escaped recycling and resides for hundreds of years in the landfill.

What is it? It’s a pencil pouch. You know, the cute little thing your child fills with pencils, erasers, sharpener and stuff into their desk or locker. And just how many of these do you think will be in your child’s school? Probably not as many as I would like to see! It feels relatively durable, after all, those foil pouches are pretty hardy. This pouch CAN BE YOURS. Read on. (If you don’t win, Terracycle has made these and they are available at most Target stores in the school supply section.)

Photobucket

Now, there are some pencils. 🙂 The blue ones are made from RECYCLED DENIM. I’m so excited I almost wet myself. The white ones are from RECYCLED NEWSPAPER. Can you believe it??? (If you don’t win, these pencils along with some biodegradable pens are made by SRX Green and available at Target with the school supplies.)

Photobucket

My Children will be using O.P.P (Other People’s Paper), shouldn’t yours? Look how cute the 100% recycled paper notebook and folder are? Just adorable. Not to mention what a great way to make our youngsters remember to Reduce, Reuse and Recycle (The Three R’s as my 8 year daughter informed me this afternoon, as in, “Duh, Mom… don’t you know that?”.) Now, I’m not 100% happy with these for a simple reason, we all know that recycled paper is, well, brownish. This is very white. So, it has been bleached. Then, I don’t know that #2 lead would show up very well on brownish paper, or that Teachers would allow it in school. But still. Instead of the folder actually being brownish… like a paper bag, it is screen printed (or whatever method they use) to get that look. Not quite as cool. (Once again, for those who aren’t lucky enough to win this fabulous package, these are also available at Target in the school supplies section. Also available are a 3-ring binder and composition books… I haven’t yet found recycled notebook paper, but I’m betting its out there.)

Photobucket

This entire “Recycled Back to School” Package can be yours FREE. Just comment to win. The winner will be selected on August 1, 2008 and posted here! Be sure to check back to claim your prize. I will draw one winner and two runner-ups, if the first winner doesn’t claim the package within 3 days of contest end, prize will go to the first runner-up who will then have 3 days to claim before package forfeits to second runner up. Open to residents of the United States and Canada only, I am unable to ship overseas. However, I will ship to our military with an APO (Because you guys ROCK).

Today’s Green Tip- Buy recycled school supplies whenever possible. Just think about how many trees lose their lives to make pencils and papers for our children. (Or for those who have seen Wall-E, consider how long those supplies take to biodegrade!)

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Being Green, Win Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Win This AWESOME Recycled Back To School Package!

  1. Kelsey says:

    Oh how cute! I wanna win! Can I bribe you maybe? Ill send you the prodigy Dennis, he can teach you all about philosophy ha

  2. No Prodigy children required… just enter every day! That increases your chances of getting selected by the “random number generator” (I typed that with a really loud, booming voice.)

  3. Meg says:

    Love the products- what great ideas.
    It makes me wish I had a school aged child! And it’s great that you included the option to ship to APO boxes, because if anyone deserves a free gift of anything, it’s our armed forces.

  4. Amber says:

    I think the products are awesome! I especially love the pencils.

    My kids are school age and we may have to go check out Targets school section. 😉

  5. Tenille says:

    Oooh! Sign me up, sign me up! Too cool!

  6. jenefur says:

    I’d love to win this for my niece/nephews! Enter me!

  7. ~M says:

    Awesome! Sign me up!

  8. C says:

    Please enter me! Thanks!

  9. Julie says:

    I saw that notebook in Target. It’s pretty cool! I love the idea of recycled pencils!

  10. Kelsey says:

    Here I am- Entering again haha

  11. asdmommy says:

    I’m in! I’m in!

  12. O.P.P. Funny and environmentally friendly!

  13. Tenille says:

    Entering AGAIN! 🙂

  14. Catherine says:

    I came here from Mindy’s site. I think she should win. She could use some good news, even if it is just in the form of free school supplies!

  15. eileen says:

    Wow! I’ve seen the denim pencils but not the other goodies. My kids LOVE other people’s paper—it comes home from daddy’s office and goes in our computer printers 😉

  16. MrsMama says:

    OK, I’m in! Now I’m starting to get excited about school…

  17. gfcfmom says:

    I love this contest. I am in New York, where people often seem too busy to think about being green. I would love to live in a greener more crunchy place–like Oregon. Thanks for tips on greening our school supplies!

  18. Meg says:

    Just saying hi! I wonder who will win????

  19. Pingback: Things I Love… Cookies and Milk « Looks Good in Polka Dots

  20. Tenille says:

    Can I enter AGAIN? 🙂

  21. learning2recycle says:

    I am utterly fascinated by the recycled products that are popping up and can only hope we’ll soon see them here on Guam. (No Target out here.) Being so far from the mainland, it takes a little longer for new products to get into our stores and ordering things from off-island not always an option even tho we’re a part of the US (shipping to Guam is either cost prohibitive or not always available from retailers). I guess I should be glad that it helps limit consumerism on island!!

    Since I’m new to this green game… I get O.P.P. but what does “gfcfmom” mean by crunchy?

  22. Meg says:

    learning2recycle should win, simply because SOMEONE needs to help Guam become more earth friendly!
    Maybe someone has a better explanation, but I’ll give it a try. Crunchy is slang for a person who is all natural- people who are “crunchy” are perceived as tree hugging, earth loving, granola eating, “green” people.

  23. Pingback: Things I Love Thursday… FREE STUFF! « Looks Good in Polka Dots

  24. Jill says:

    And this fits right in with recycled toothbrushes. Man, this saving the world is exhausting 🙂 Count me in.

  25. mzzterry says:

    Wow. I would love to get in on this! Thanks for the opportunity!

  26. melissa says:

    Just got the supply list today. One going into 2nd and one starting K.
    Thanks for the opportunity.

  27. Pingback: My Love MeMe… « Looks Good in Polka Dots

  28. Pingback: Enjoying My Last Days of Gluten « Looks Good in Polka Dots

  29. Alison says:

    oh my gosh!!! I so got the recycled denim pencils and the juice pouch today and I love them!!

  30. froggylove says:

    Oh count me in! Thanks!

  31. Pingback: Pizza Night « Looks Good in Polka Dots

  32. Pingback: Squeaky Clean « Looks Good in Polka Dots

  33. Pingback: Blackberries « Looks Good in Polka Dots

  34. Devion says:

    Very interesting! I haven’t seen these products! I just want to know if they have a room full of kids drinking those Kool-Aid Jammers so that they can make the pouches or what?

    I’m new to your blog via The Diaper Diaries and have looked around. I plan to come back soon! 🙂

  35. Cassandra says:

    Oh, sign me up please. Being 32 weeks, pregnant, I’m not looking forward to shopping for school supplies for my 2nd-grader.

  36. Pingback: Things I Love Thursday… Innovation. « Looks Good in Polka Dots

  37. Hey, please enter me! Maybe there’ll be some extra last-one-to-the-party luck for me. I’ve never won at a giveaway, so I will not be holding my breath. We are mad recyclers and reusers, repurposers, etc. at home. I love your choice of product—”spread the eco word and soon it’ll be the only language™!

    Good luck to all!

  38. Daisy says:

    I like Target more and more each time I shop there. Please enter me in the contest! I would use these not for my own kiddos, but for my students.

Comments are closed.