Wowsa

Where have I been?  Sheesh.

I’ve been posting some over at GroksBigFamily.  If you want to see what we are eating these days and our weekly menu plan, take a peek at An Overdue Paleo Food Post.  For a pregnancy update, check out Grief, Loss, & Pregnancy.

The reality is, I’m tired.  This pregnancy thing at 35 is not for wimps. (In cute news though, baby is now the size of a lime.)

My kids are keeping me oh so busy. . . maybe that’s more the reason for the exhaustion than just being pregnant.

On the project front- I’m working on baby blankets.  Soon, I will start sewing nursery linens.  And my newest project desire is to whip up a couple of oh so cute hospital delivery gowns.  I will be a scheduled c-section, so I will likely be there 3 or 4 days after delivery. . . I don’t remember how often you change hospital gowns (I really don’t want to sew 3 or 4. . . nor do I want to spend the $ to buy them on Etsy).  I also want more breastfeeding coverage than the gowns I’m seeing afford.

On being Catholic.  We are well into Lent now.  My older two girls were able to be Altar Servers at Ash Wednesday Mass, they really enjoy serving at special Masses. My youngest child was a heathen at Mass, but thankfully everyone just nods and smiles and says, “we’ve all had one”. Just one of the many reasons I love being Catholic.  No one expects you to keep kids out of the service. The children have become a bit too reliant on Netflix and videos, especially on weekends.  So, that’s what our family gave up for Lent.  These means that maybe (if they are lucky) there will be time for a movie between church services on Sundays, but nothing in between.  We are dealing with more acting out and wild child behavior. . . but I’m confident they will adapt and find other creative outlets for their energy.  Our meatless meal last night wasn’t paleo. . . we had GF clam chowder & GF grilled cheese sandwiches.  Yummy, but obviously a deviation from our paleo norm.  I’m finding it really hard to come up with grain free and meat free meals. .  .I mean, what’s left?  If I just hand the kids a plate of salad they will look at me like I’ve lost it. . . Our favorite Priest has offered several blessings for our in-utero trio and we haven’t had the opportunity to update him yet on the status that our trio is now a singleton. Thinking on that conversation makes me sad.

Well, I’ve done my long overdue duty and posted. . . now, I’m off to piece together a pattern for a hospital gown and see if I can come up with something acceptable.  Thankfully I have several yards of purple cotton (purchased for a Lent project a few years back that was never completed) to use for a practice gown. 🙂

 

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Catholic, Family, Food, Gluten Free and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

