Primal Dinner Winner on a Budget

Last night’s dinner (otherwise known as, “eek, it’s 4:20pm and I have nothing defrosted!” Keepers of all things Paleo- don’t bash me, it was this or gluten free pizza).

1 pkg (2.5lbs) boneless, skinless chicken breast tenders*  $5.99

1 pkg (2lbs) organic veggie medley- broccoli, cauliflower, carrots  $3.49

1 quart organic chicken stock $1.99 (I know I should use homemade but it’s frozen and I was out of time, hence the better planning goal for 2013.)

Seasonings- salt, pepper, garlic

Smattering of grated, aged cheddar

Dump the chicken into my giant 11×17 Pyrex baking dish, top with the veggies, and pour the broth on top.  Sprinkle with garlic, salt, & pepper.  Cover with foil and bake at 350 for 75-90 minutes (until chicken registers 180F).  Toward the end, sprinkle some grated cheese on top if you like.

We will add a giant salad and the kiddos will get mashed potatoes (I know. . . but it’s last minute and our New Years Eve meal).  All said, this is a dinner for 7 that cost about $15.

*In a perfect world, that would be pieces of whole, organic, free range chicken. . . but we are a family of 7 on a budget, so the chicken is conventional.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Gluten Free, Gluten Free Recipes, Grain Free, Paleo and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Primal Dinner Winner on a Budget

  1. Believe it or not….I had no idea what a Paleo diet was until I started following you…. (don’t shoot me! lol) I literally had to “Google” it. I must say, alot of the recipes you post sound uber yummy….even for my little vampire babies gnawing away at my insides. lol, I think I’ll try this one out….;)
    Bree

  2. I didn’t really know much about Paleo before I decided to switch (about 8 months ago now). I really think it helped us get pregnant. . . all our time TTC, not even a hint of a positive until 4 months into Paleo (which was a chemical) and now we have our sticky! Who knows. . . I’m writing a lot more Paleo related posts at my newest blog- groksbigfamily.com

  3. Sweet! I’ll definitely check it out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

