Welcome 2013

#1- MENU PLANNING

Reasoning: save money, stick to a healthy plan to minimize cheats, and reduce stress.

I started off with a bang. . . last night I mapped out a full two weeks of GAPs/Grain Free meal plans (breakfast, lunch, dinner).  I also went through my cookbooks and used sticky notes to mark the recipes used during those weeks so that I’m not running around trying to remember where the recipe is.  My goal is to continue this throughout the year.

#2- RAW MILK or NO MILK

Reasoning: to improve health and support local farmers.

I contacted a local farm about a cow share (or shares) for real milk, butter, cream, and raw yogurt.  Yum. Hopefully this will be in place within a week or so.  I will continue to buy USDA DEAD milk for the daycare because I don’t have a choice.

#3- MEAT

Reasoning: Improved health benefits, cost savings, & support of local farmers.

We will get a second freezer so that we can actually buy the half cow I’ve been planning forever.  I will move 100% of our beef purchases to local &  grass fed.  I will be more lenient with chicken (for now).  The little pork we do buy is organic and uncured, so that will stay the same (unless I find a local source).

#4- Baby, Maybe?

Reasoning: We are crazy. 🙂

Getting pregnant or adopting a baby is still a goal, however, we have no control over that outcome so we will continue to leave it in God’s hands.

#5- Books, Oh How I Love Thee!

Reasoning: As if I need a reason!  Expand knowledge. Feel empowered.  Help educate others.

I’ve nearly finished reading The Primal Blueprint by Mark Sisson.

I have lots of reading “plans” for the year-

Sugar Nation

Omnivore’s Dilemma

Wheat Belly

Eat Fat Lose Fat

The Nourishing Traditions Book of Baby and Childcare

Read Again- Nourishing Traditions & Taking Charge of Your Fertility

#6- Exercise

Reasoning: Um, duh.  We want to be healthy.  The healthiest we can possibly be.  We want to raise healthy children who know how to take care of themselves.

Today we took the kids on a “Grok Walk”. . . a time of walking (moderate activity) spaced with intermittent sprints (bear!) and ending with the play ground (monkey bars, jumping benches, etc. . . ).  This was fun!  We will continue these a minimum of 2 times each week.

#7- Spend Less

Reasoning: Save money.  Practice self control.  Teach valuable money management skills to our children.

This is simple in concept.  Not so simple in implementation.  I plan to budget every penny.  We will likely spend more on nutritious foods (cow share, raw milk) but we have a lot of “fluff” in our expenses that we need to get away from. If it’s not in the plan- it doesn’t get spent.  ‘Nuff said.

#8- Give More

Reasoning: We want to be generous people and to raise generous people.  Helping those less fortunate is a duty of every human being.

This may seem counter productive to #7- spend less, but really, I think it’s a valuable piece of that.  We need to spend less on the crap that fills our lives and give more to those who don’t have.  Mother Teresa said it best- Live simply so that others may simply live.  What a wonderful family motto for this and every year!

#9- ULTIMATE GARDEN

Reasoning: Save $ (hopefully) and enjoy better quality food. It’s also good to teach children where their food comes from and how to grow it!

I always have BIG garden plans that fizzle out because of lack of planning (it’s expensive to do it all at once right at the beginning of planting time) or lack of time.

This year I WILL-

Put in garden boxes by the end of February and have filled with quality soil by end of March.  Then I can focus on plants.   I will grow a lot of tomatoes and can my own sauces.  I will save squash for the winter (grated and frozen).  We will enjoy bountiful veggie centric meals from our own hard work!  I will also can a whole bunch of fruits, including lots of jams to give away at Christmas (the last two years we haven’t gotten nearly enough canned!).  This is a minimal cost since we already have a plethora of canning jars and supplies in the garage.

#10- Make soap and candles

Reasoning: to teach my children old skills, to create something unique, possibly for resale.

I want to spend the summer focusing on candle and soap making.  If all goes well, we will sell our products at the holiday bazaars and craft sales.

I would love to come up with more goals for the year. . . but, honestly, I love my life.  There are things I’d like to see change but that at this point are not possible to change, so I will learn to let go.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

