Our Budget Bedroom Remodel

Our little girls room was UGLY.  We’ve been in the house almost two years now and I intended to redecorate the kids bedrooms much sooner than this.  However, our first bedroom makeover cost $1200 and it just wasn’t in the budget to repeat that.  Finally, I couldn’t stand it anymore. . .

Boring. . .

 

Did I mention this little one of mine is a SLOB?

It’s embarrassing really.

I tend to do things in spur of the moment fashion. . . and the budget was tight.  So, as Hubs and I are in cleaning up a few things in her room, I decided it’s time to take everything out.  So I did. . . all the way down to the bare floors. Under the carpet, we discovered THREE syringes.  Capped, thankfully.  They were obviously hidden along the tack strip near the closet floor.  Our house used to be owned by a man who rented out the rooms and according to our neighbors they were interesting characters.  Our home inspector found evidence of “gardening” in our attic (which has a deadbolt with key on it’s access door. . . ).

Anyway- here’s our finished bedroom:

The closet is my favorite part of the bedroom.

Obviously I haven’t done the light yet. . . the bulb cover broke and the fan makes ridiculous noises so it’s time to replace it.

Eventually the wall behind the crib will have a tree and birds on it.

Okay- here’s the budget breakdown:

Paint & supplies $120 (includes the paint for the floor, & walls)

Bed- found on Craigslist for $50, $15 for bubblegum pink spray paint, & $24 for wooden slats under the mattress.

Bedding- already had.  Simple white bedskirt- $9.99.  I want an eyelet one but couldn’t find it so this will be replaced eventually.

Desk – $5.00 at a garage sale, already painted.  We may repaint eventually but it fits in the room just fine like this.  (Sister is painting a cool chair to go with it as a Christmas gift).

Polka Dotted clothing bins for closet shelves- $5.99 each at Ross (I bought 5, that’s all they had).

Heart storage boxes- $3.99 each at Target (I bought 3)

Patterned rug- $19.99 at Wal-Mart

Solid pink rug- $14.99 at Fred Meyer

Curtains & rod- 2 insulated light blocking panels for $14.99 each and white rod for $11.99 from Wal-Mart

Art wire- already had, purchased at Ikea for around $10 over a year ago and never hung it up. 🙂

Pink mirror, wall decals, & “Sugar & spice” picture (not hung yet)- Wal-Mart $9.50.

The other bins, totes, shelf, coat hooks, etc. . . we already had either in her room or around the house.

Our grand total- $342.86

I will spend $20-30 replacing the light (either girl bead chandelier at IKEA or same white fan).  I’m also thinking about adding one more small rug in front of the door, and I need to get a border strip to cover the carpet/floor connection at the doorway.  If we paint the tree and birds, that’ll be nearly free as I already have the supplies. . . if I opt for a wall decal, it could get a bit pricey.

All in all, I’m really thrilled with the result.  And our Kelsey girl. . . she’s keeping that room pretty tidy. 🙂  Maybe the only motivation she needed was a pretty bedroom.

*We have radiant floor heat, but the floors are cement.  I simply painted the floors with patio floor paint for now.  Eventually we will cough up the bucks for wood flooring.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Family, Kids, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Budget Bedroom Remodel

  1. Totally cute! I don’t know why your blog isn’t on my blogroll, but I just referred a friend to your site (she is looking for gluten free recipes, and I knew you had some here!)

Leave a Reply

