Follow Up Endoscopy

Last week I had the great fortune of undergoing a colonoscopy.  My younger brother recently had a malignant polyp in his colon and there’s something about family history, yada yada. Anyway, my GI asked if they should do a repeat endoscopy to check on healing.  So I went for it. . . might as well go down as well as up, right?
Yesterday I received my biopsy results in the mail-

“Biopsies were consistent with a history of Celiac disease”- Just what did they see?

 

This is more information than I received from my last endoscopy. . . but I find the wording curious.  No obvious damage to my villi, but biopsies were consistent with a history of Celiac disease- continue gluten free diet. In other words, “even though your gut is healed currently don’t be a dope and start eating the poison again”.

I won’t be taking Prilosec.  I don’t have heartburn any longer since going grain free (and sugar free) I get a rare, vague heartburn feeling when I consume sugar (if I drink a soda or sugary coffee for instance).  I’m sure this is residual damage from the constant heartburn I used to have.  Which brings up another point- there’s no mention of my hiatal hernia, wonder if that repaired itself (which they said wouldn’t happen) or if they decided I didn’t need to be reminded since it’s basically irrelevant.

I will be getting that repeat colonoscopy in five years as much as I’d rather not. . . it’s preferable to death by colon cancer and there’s that whole family history thing.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Paleo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

