Hello- My New Best Friend, The Sweet Potato

I’ve developed a love affair with the sweet potato. Who knew? Just a year ago they still registered in the weird food category for me.

Today, I happily devour them. Of course, I rarely eat any other carbs so perhaps that explains my new penchant for the tuber.

In the last few days, we’ve enjoyed the orange-y goodness in three different ways.

#1- Fried Sweet Potato Hashbrowns (I shredded the potatoes in my food processor, then fried in hot coconut oil, and immediately salted with sea salt). Delicious!

#2- As a “porridge”. I cooked the potatoes as I had for hashbrowns, minus the salt. Then I placed them in a bowl and topped with raisins, cinnamon, a drizzle of maple syrup, and a dash of heavy cream. Oh my. . . this will be my go to food. I used to love rice with cinnamon and sugar for breakfast or snack. . . this will be my new, healthier version.

(I didn’t get a picture. . . they were THAT good).
#3- Sweet Potato Brownies. The recipe came from PaleoOMG. I adapted it a bit- first, a couple of us are egg free right now, so I replaced the 3 eggs with 1/4 cup applesauce + an additional 2 TBS coconut oil. I didn’t warm my coconut oil first because the sweet potato was hot and it melted right in. I also used maple syrup instead of honey. We topped them with whipped heavy cream. Mmmmmmm. All the kids loved them and had no idea the main ingredient was sweet potato.

Mama is going to have to watch her love for the SP, as it is a carb and I have to stay fairly low carb in order to not put on the pounds (thank you PCOS). However, this is great for my very active kids who need more carbs than I do. Note to self– you can make something for the children and not eat it yourself. I’ve been worried about adequate carb consumption for the kids as the girls are dancing and doing gymnastics and one of our boys is playing soccer.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Food, Gluten Free, Gluten Free Recipes, Grain Free, Paleo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

