Define Definitive

I’ve always been a bit skeptical of a way of eating that took away whole food groups.  This is why I’ve struggled with GAPS/SCD/Paleo lifestyles.  I like not fitting into a niche perfectly.  I like being a bit different and often, even contradictory.

The more we’ve transitioned to a grain free life, they more I’m becoming a believer.  The differences I see in myself (22lbs thinner already!) and my children are astounding.  Hubs, well. . . he still eats a lot of crap (frozen pizza, vanilla coke, and sweets!) so we aren’t seeing big changes there yet.  I’m holding out hope that he will get on board soon!  He still runs to the freezer for that left over bun from last months BBQ when we have burgers. . . maybe I should just stop buying them? Then his only option is eating grains away from the house?

With the kiddos, I noticed changes pretty quickly.  My oldest daughter (and most recent Celiac diagnosis) has lost almost all the remaining belly bloat in a very short period of time.  She’s feeling more confident and happier.  I’m eager to see how this lifestyle helps her transition into puberty over the next couple of years.   With the boys, the change is most noticeable when they are with me on the weeks that they are spending nights at their Bio-Mom’s house.  They eat S.A.D. (Standard American Diet) over there.  I take care of the boys all day in my childcare, so I get an up close view of how behaviors and attitudes change when the diet is full of junk.  We see more meltdowns and more cravings on these weeks and in the initial transition back to our house full time.

I’ve been a bit lax with the kids as summer has started.  They’ve had a couple mornings of gluten free O cereal and even had a few sandwiches. . . I have to figure out how to balance their healthy eating with the daycare meals.  One option I’m considering is feeding the daycare and getting them settled down for nappy time and then feeding my crew.  I can’t afford to feed the entire daycare (16 kids!) Paleo nor will the USDA allow me to. . . they are still pushing grains as the bulk of the diet.  Now, that’s SAD.

I’m noticing how dairy affects me. . . I can handle heavy cream in my coffee or an occasional mug of cocoa made with a  healthy sugar, high quality cacao, and a combination of whole milk & cream.  Anything more. .  .and especially any dairy coupled with refined sugars and my allergies go nuts!  Today, I had an iced mocha (my old addiction) and the phlegm yuck feeling was back in a short period of time.  I also don’t like the way my skin is when I have much dairy.

That said, I’m removing the cheese from my diet again and increasing my greens (this will take me above the 20 carb grams of induction). I will have up to one serving of heavy cream in a day. . . otherwise, it’s back to the 21 Day Sugar Detox protocol. I’m not sure how long I will follow this strictly. . . but I anticipate sticking strongly to it during the week and allowing a bit of a treat on the weekend (like stevia in my coffee or a bit of dark chocolate).  I’ve already done the sugar detox, so my cravings are minimal (although I still get hormone related cravings thanks to the infertility drugs. . . I don’t think anything will nip those!).

Where was I going with this post?  Oh, yeah. . . I’m becoming a believer in defined nutrition. . . I see the benefits of Paleo/grain free. . . Pretty sure repeat lab work in a couple months will fully convince me.

That said. . . this weight loss is  taking away my curves that we (hubs and I) had hoped to keep.  Any suggestions?  I’m do a 30 minute resistance training workout 4x/weekly that works all major muscle groups coupled with low intensity cardio intervals.  Anything specific for the tush and bosom I should be adding?  I’ve heard lunges are vital. . .

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Paleo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

