Kinnikinnick’s New Soft Bread!

The folks over at Kinnikinnick sent the Polka Dot Household a box of their new soft bread products to try out. It’s always an exciting day when a box arrives on our doorstep.

Larger loaf! (Compared here to Udi's GF bread)

I love the larger loaf size!  Retail price is $4.99 (same as Udi’s) but the loaf is much larger.  Udi’s has been our stand by favorite in our house for some time, a loaf is $4.99 for 12 oz (about 12 slices)… the new Kinnikinnick soft bread is $4.99 for 16 oz (about 16 slices).  That’s a nice bonus, since GF breads are already at least twice as much as a high quality whole wheat loaf.

SRP for Kinnikinnick's Soft Breads

My children were resistant to trying the Kinnikinnick bread because, “Mom, I like Udi’s!!!”.  Once they did though, they were happy with it.

For me, taste and texture is par with Udi’s.  The larger loaf size is a great bonus and yes, the bread is softer when allowed to defrost on the counter (I didn’t care for it in the microwave as there is a fine balance between just enough and too much which leads to hard spots).

I enjoyed the Kinnikinnick soft bread as my all time favorite; peanut butter & jelly.  It was delicious.  I did toast the bread, but I’m a toaster girl (I preferred glutened bread toasted as well).  I also enjoyed another old standby, a cold cheese sandwich… on defrosted bread.  It was soft and reminiscent of my old favorite on Wonder White Bread (disgusting, I know!).

We toted the hamburger and hot buns along with us for a BBQ on St. Patrick’s day.  I defrosted the buns in the microwave and we enjoyed them with meat fresh from the Traeger grill and Havarti cheese slices.  Honestly, I felt like everyone else enjoying my burger on a soft bun!  The SRP for the buns (pack of 4) is $4.59.

The Low Down. . .

Will we buy these soft bread products?  YES.

Is the price reasonable?  It is comparable to other GF products and the bread loaves are larger (buns are only 4 to a pack).  We would love to see more cost effective GF bread products. . . but that may be a pipe dream.

Will the children eat them?  Yes, even untoasted.

Texture?  Good, soft, not crumbly.

Taste?  Great, almost like a glutened white bread (at least in my distant memory).

Freezing required?  Yes.  Defrost on counter or in microwave.  I’m tempted to keep a loaf in the fridge to try out… with four of us eating GF, a loaf can go quickly!

Ease of purchase?  I haven’t seen Kinnikinnick’s new soft breads at my local grocers yet… they are avaliable online but I hope to discover them in stores soon!  My package survived the shipping process just fine, we froze the breads upon arrival and they were still perfectly shaped and tasty.

Nutrition?  Awesome.  Lower Sodium, no cholesterol, 5 grams of fiber per serving,  and nothing artificial!

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Family, Food, GF Shopping, Gluten Free and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kinnikinnick’s New Soft Bread!

  1. gflikeme says:

    I will have to give these a try. Was shipping price reasonable? How long did it take for you to receive it and was it shipped USPS or UPS? Thanks

  2. I received this samples for free… but shipping on the website is a standard $10.

  3. gflikeme says:

    I hope they pop up in grocery stores soon. I’m not a fan of ordering food online. Not sure why but I like being able to see it hold it and look at it. Thanks

  4. Cara says:

    I could not be happier in reading this! I was about to give up on all store-bought bread but then one might be worth looking into…

Leave a Reply

