Jesus Under Our Tree & GF Donuts!

We have a special guest residing among the gifts under the tree… the greatest gift of all!  JESUS!

Christmas Eve Baby Jesus will go MIA (hiding somewhere in our house).  When the children wake up on Christmas morning they will go on a Jesus hunt.  Once they’ve found Him, they will carry Him to the manger while singing Away in a Manger followed by Happy Birthday.  Then we will eat CAKE for breakfast.  I’m still deciding on exactly what recipe will find its way into this Christmas morn. Once we’ve celebrated the birth of Jesus, our children will be able to unwrap their gifts and stockings.  Then we will have a nutritious breakfast of eggs and fresh fruit (to keep little bellies full and blood sugar stable after our morning treat) and head off to church.  What does Christmas morning look like in your home?

In the meantime, we’ve enjoyed these delicious pumpkin spice donuts.  Oh my.  They are super simple to make (not grain free… I have to work on that one). I used the recipe over at Bob’s Red Mill for Vanilla Pumpkin Cake with slight modifications.

Gluten Free Pumpkin Spice Donuts

1 small can pure pumpkin (or half a large can)

3 cups Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Vanilla Cake Mix (or one package, I buy in bulk)

3 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon (plus extra mixed with organic sugar for sprinkling)

1/2 tsp nutmeg

Combine all ingredients until lumps are gone.  It will be a thick batter.  Pour batter into a gallon size ziploc baggie (or a large pastry/icing bag with large tip), seal and snip the corner off the baggie.  Spray your donut pan and sprinkle with cinnamon/sugar.  Pipe batter into donut pan, smooth out with a toothpick if needed.  Bake for about 20 minutes at 375F.  When done, allow to cool in the pan for a few minutes and then run a butter knife around the edges to insure all donuts are loose and invert onto a cooling rack.  Enjoy!  For an interesting alternative, skip the cinnamon/sugar sprinkles and top with a confectioners sugar glaze drizzle.

What I’m eating today: (clean, but not quite grain free)- GF oats from Bob’s Red Mill w/ scrambled eggs & coconut sugar, diced baby red w/ zucchini, organic chicken sausage, mushrooms, and a smattering of cheddar… Yum!  I missed my morning snack because I have 11 children underfoot today. 🙂

What I’m listening to: Chris Tomlin’s Christmas Album on iTunes.

What I’m planning: prepping meals and activities for my sub while I’m out for surgery later this week.  Christmas crafts/gifts for the daycare families and our daycare Christmas party.

Recipes I’m hoping to tinker with today: Grain free coconut flour bread and grain free coconut flour donuts (chocolate, maybe?).

I’m also applying for acceptance into an 18 hour cohort for infant & toddlers.

I’m feeling very blessed and joyful as we anticipate the birth of our Risen Lord Jesus.  Here’s a quick lesson for you on Christmas-

The word Christmas comes from the Christ Mass (celebration of the Eucharist) in the original (Catholic) church on December 25th.  The date was chosen because there were many pagan celebrations in wintertime and this date would allow Christians to replace those pagan customs with the celebration of Christ’s birth.  The word Holiday is a contraction of the words Holy and day, and is a term used for days of obligation in the church.  So, whether you say Happy Holidays or Merry Christmas; let’s remember the true meaning of the season.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Catholic, Family, Gluten Free, Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jesus Under Our Tree & GF Donuts!

  1. While I don’t agree with everything in the book, it’s well researched and I’m guessing that if Dr. Davis had been willing to add another 200 pages, he would have explained away most of my concerns. Other than the fact that his food philosophy is a bit animal-product-heavy for me, his “eat real food” approach to health makes perfect sense. He does use artificial/non-nutritive sweeteners (which I avoid), but he admits that’s a compromise. I understand his reasoning, as I do my own version of compromising when it comes to a few select, gluten-free products that I recommend to clients and that I occasionally use myself.

  2. I am not very good with English but I find this rattling easy to translate.

  3. las artes says:

    Ahhhh! I haven’t had a gluten free donut yet…These look delicious. Ugly? Definitely not!

Leave a Reply

