Cupcakes for Breakfast?

Coconut Flour Cupcakes

Saturday night, we ventured out to a Christmas Light Parade.  Like any small town parade, our children gathered lots of CANDY.  Y’all know, I don’t let my littles consume much of the sweet stuff around here.  Really, I think they need NONE… so it got lost in the land of missing candy.

Like most littles, mine are constantly haranguing me for the sweet stuff.  Sometimes, I give in and let them eat cupcakes for breakfast.

These pretty little goodies were made with a few ingredients: coconut flour, cocoa powder, eggs, agave, coconut oil, baking soda, & air dried sea salt… the recipe is from Elana’s Pantry… instead of frosting, I topped each one with three Dagoba Dark Chocolate Chips.

I find nearly all my cupcake (muffin) recipes over at Elana’s Pantry or in her book, Gluten Free Cupcakes.  My littles agree… these are lip smacking!

I figure, my littles are better off than most… you won’t find any giant Costco muffins adorning our breakfast table.

And guess what?  I made a double batch and packed the leftovers in their lunch boxes today.  (Along with aged white cheddar cubes, veggies, water, and a piece of fruit.)

We will be celebrating the birth of our Risen Lord Jesus Christ first thing in the morning on Christmas… I’m giving my kids CAKE for breakfast.  I’ll likely use a coconut flour recipe for the cake and make an icing using Spectrum Palm Shortening (still shortening but better than Crisco).  We will follow our cake with a traditional breakfast chock full of protein and other good stuff.

 

Now whose calling this Mama mean?

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Catholic, Family, Food, Gluten Free, Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

