Advent is Underway

The richness and beauty of the Advent season is not lost on us.  This is a time for wonder, for preparation, for expanding our reality, for being ready.

Have I mentioned that my children are naughty?  Yes, indeed… the little polka dots around here are NORMAL children (how’d that happen?).  So, our nightly readings and devotions are broken by misbehavior, premature blowing out of candles, interruptions, ape child swinging on cabinets, you get the idea…

This Advent Season, I’m reminded to give Thanks even in difficulty… give Thanks for naughty children (who challenge me to become more patient, more Grace giving).  Give Thanks in illness, in the loss of loved ones, in pain, in brokenness, in being broke, in tears… give Thanks in laughter, in love, in fond memories, in delights… give Thanks in all things.

Our motto this Advent (and possibly for always) is “consider others FIRST“.  The daily challenge with my children is loving others, giving over selfishness, finding joy when things don’t go your way.  Perhaps the concept of “dieing to self” is too extreme for young minds, but I believe they can learn the basics now.

This Advent, I’ve wrapped up 28 Christian Christmas story books to open each night.  Week 1, 2, & 4 are in purple wrapping and week 3 is in pink.

Week One Stories

Week Two Stories

Week Three Stories

Week Four Stories

AND… I just realized the photos are a bit out of order… I moved The Legend of St. Nicholas to week two so the children can read it on St. Nicholas Feast Day (December 6th).

I anticipate a few of these books retiring after this year… I found many of them second hand at St. Vincent de Paul or Goodwill.  I didn’t pre-read 100% of them (rather scanned each story).

For the Feast Day of St. Nicholas, my children will find gold coins in their shoes and a set of PlayMobil Angel & St. Nicholas figurines.  I need to do some research and find a special meal or dessert than I can make gluten free to enjoy that evening.

On the agenda this week…

Baking Nativity sugar cookies (gluten free, of course).  I’ll use a sugar cookie recipe from Karen over at Only Sometimes CleverLacy at Catholic Icing has a super simple decoration tactic, but I’m thinking a little more frosting/glaze.

What I’m reading:  Give Them Grace: Dazzling your Children with the Love of Jesus by Elyse Fitzpatrick & Jessica Thompson, The Five Love Needs of Men & Women by Dr. Gary & Barbara Rosberg, and One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp.

What I’m sad about: My final copy of Faith & Family Magazine (Winter 2011) has arrived in the mail.  This is the last print magazine.

Notable news:  No, we are NOT pregnant yet.  We will let you know when that miracle happens.

And that’s a wrap.  Blessings to you in this season of waiting for the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.  May His peace fill you, may his Grace remain with you, may you find Thanks in all things.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Catholic, Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

