Random Thoughts After a Month Away…

Spring is my favorite time of year… the sun shines (at least once every couple of weeks here in Oregon), the grass is green and lush, the flowers are blooming, my children are growing like weeds…

Kelsey, David, McKenzie, Matthew, & Kaylee

The pollen count is out of this world… As a result we are having allergy & asthma flares.  I’ve also noticed an interesting correlation that the MD’s poo-poo at… when my girls get exposed to gluten, they have an asthma attack within a few hours.  It’s happened several times now, so I’m confident there is a correlation.

Life is crazy busy (hence the infrequency of my posts here).  We are incredibly (dare I say blissfully?) happy… even though we are, dealing with five kids that like to bicker and yet, always want to be together… cleaning and cooking for a family of 10… running the daycare (and trying to increase income)…

What I’m reading right now…(Yes, these are Amazon links, No I don’t receive payment or incentives if you click them… although I should set that up.)

The Vaccine Book by Robert W. Sears, M.D., F.A.A.P.

Nurture Shock by Po Bronson and Ashley Merryman

Special-Needs Kids Go Pharm-Free by Judy Converse, MPH, RD, LD

What I’m stalking the postman for:

The copy of Real Food for Mother & Baby, The Fertility Diet by Nina Planck which I ordered last week (since no one in town had any in stock!).  I’m waiting not so patiently!

My favorite websites currently are: E-Mealz and Fertility Flower (buttons on sidebar).

If you use my button for E-Mealz, to sign up, I do earn an affiliate commission. I do not earn any incentives for Fertility Flower… I’m just a happy member of the site.

My current thoughts on eating gluten free… why the heck did I spend several years looking for gluten free alternatives of UNHEALTHY foods like breads, crackers, cereals, & cookies?  Seriously… the food we should be eating is NATURALLY gluten free.  Like fresh meat, veggies, fruits, nuts, & dairy.  Our focus now is on eating healthier WHOLE foods and less gf, natural, organic, (insert catch phrase of choice here) PROCESSED JUNK disguised as ‘healthier’ food.  That said, I am working on my version of gluten free donuts (homemade of course) so that the kids can enjoy a treat on occasion.  Once I have it figured out, I will share… probably. 🙂

On Mothers Day-

As most of you know… my Mama has been with Jesus for two years now.  I don’t miss her any less today than I did on the day she left us.  I don’t think that will ever change.   Mama’s Celebration of Life was held on Mother’s Day weekend in 2009, so it will always be a bitter sweet day for me.  A day to be Thankful for the Mama I had and a day to reflect on the life here on earth that was much too short.  This year, I received a Mother’s Day gift a week early when my AMAZING husband surprised me with tickets to see the musical Wicked.  It was a wonderful night made sweeter by the fact that my husband chose to do something with me that he knew I would enjoy even if it wasn’t his “cup of tea”. 🙂

Rob & I on the way to see Wicked

All in all… it’s been a crazy, busy, wonderful few weeks around here.  My plan is to write more frequently and maybe even get back to the days when I made $ writing online… I failed to mention, we’ve been doing Dave Ramsey and are looking for anyway possible to increase our income (without taking me away from our children and home responsibilities).

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Gluten Free, Kids, Losing Mom, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Random Thoughts After a Month Away…

  1. Lisa M says:

    I know what you’re talking about with the asthma, I discovered that when I eat something I’m allergic to my asthma becomes worse until what ever it is I ate is out of my system. I also discovered I can’t think straight as well, my thoughts go all over the place and I have a difficult time concentrating on anything for any length of time.

  2. amy g. says:

    My niece has a severe case of celiac, she has since birth, and it was diagnosed very early. Anytime she is exposed to wheat/gluten her asthma flares up, it also weakens her immune system more than is already is, and she’s sick within the week. It is completely connected. MD’s don’t know everything, they don’t know your children like you.

  3. I’m glad to hear I’m not alone in noticing this correlation… the Docs look at me like I’m crazy (which I kind of am, but that’s another topic…).

Leave a Reply

