Lessons in Submission

Have I become THAT woman?  You know, the one who wears the pants and whose husband is the meak, quiet mouse barely making a move without checking with HER first?  (Um, no I haven’t… but I want to make sure I don’t ever become HER.)

I consider myself pretty good at this Biblical submission thing.  I know my role as wife (are you laughing yet, since I’m twice divorced?).  I understand God’s role for the man and the woman within marriage.  I desire a Godly marriage in which I can support and uplift my husband as the leader of our home.

The other night, I was having a discussion with my Beau about decisions and it came to me that I may not be so good at this submission thing… except, that is, when my mates decisions fall in line with my own ideals.  Talk about a reality slap…

Guess I have work to do, A LOT of it. I truly do desire a bond that allows us to glorify God and in that, I need to remember: A). Stating my opinion ONCE is okay B). Then I need to be quiet on the subject C). When my spouse makes a decision, I need to accept and respect that decision.  No pouting, no “I told you so”, no eye rolling, no “he never listens to me” belittling…

*Tongue in cheek*

I’m pondering how I reached the stage where I honestly believed I was good at this submission thing… Have I been deceiving myself? Have I been caught up in the women can do anything mentality for too long?  Maybe its just because I’ve had to learn to be strong and not rely on others (there’s real life experience for you!).  That said, as I’m about to embark on an amazing adventure with a Godly man, I realize that I am called to be a Godly wife and ensure we have a lifetime of joy even through the hard times.

“Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior.” Ephesians 5:22-23

“Wives, in the same way submit yourselves to your own husbands so that, if any of them do not believe the word, they may be won over without words by the behavior of their wives.” 1 Peter 3:1

“Wives, submit yourselves to your husbands, as is fitting in the Lord.” Colossians 3:18

There are many more such dictates I could pull out of scripture.  I do not doubt for one second what my role is:  I am to be a wife, a helpmeet to my spouse, a supporter, a lover, a caregiver… I am not to be the decision maker (even when he can’t/won’t make decisions). Sometimes this means crawling on our bellies in order to get under his headship so that we can be the Godly wife we are called to and as such, lift up our husbands and honor them as God has called us to do. For strong women, this is a difficult task set before us… but not subjecting ourselves to it means we are allowing deception to set in and thus begins the work of Satan.

Of course, God has given our husbands many rules as well… about loving and respecting the wife as Christ does the Church, about fulfilling the “man’s” role, about welcoming children as the blessings they are, and so much more.  It’s not my job to tell my mate what his job duties are… rather, it’s my duty to fulfill my job duties and pray that my spouse is filled with the love of Christ and desires to fulfill his duties.

*On my face praying for God’s Grace to work in me*

My favorite support in my role as a Godly wife and mother- Above Rubies.  Check them out, I’m sure you will be inspired and uplifted too!

 

 

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lessons in Submission

  1. -r.a. says:

    sounds like congratulations might be in order…?!

  2. Yes indeed. 🙂 I’ll email you.

Leave a Reply

