Live Gluten Freely & A Give AWAY!!!!!

*Contest is closed.  Congrats to our winner, Caryn!”*

Holy Canoli, mainstream gluten free products are abounding!  This is a very exciting time for the Polka Dot Household (and many gluten free peeps) to visit any traditional grocery store.  I am incredibly thrilled…

Doing the Gluten Free Happy Dance!

Recently, I’ve received a plethora of requests to review products… of course, I said “YES”.  I do love trying out new products, I’m going to tell all of you about those products anyway, so the companies might as well send the goodies to me for FREE.  Thanks to the wonderful people at General Mills & Live Gluten Freely who sent the Polka Dot Household this fantabulous (yes, that is a made up word) box of gluten free goodness.

Goody Box from General Mills & Live Gluten Freely

*Disclaimer* The Polka Dot Household recognizes that these are prepared, processed, food products and not part of our every day diet.  However, it is nice to have convenience foods at times.  The fruit snack variety pack (Fruit Roll-Ups, Fruit Gushers, & Fruit By The Foot) is not something our household consumes, however, I had no compunction feeding them to the daycare crew.  The crew enjoyed the fruit snacks immensely.

My gift pack included Honey Nut Rice Chex, Betty Crocker Baking Mixes & Frosting, Bisquick Gluten Free,  Potato Buds, fruit snacks,  a LaraBar, red Betty Crocker spoon, gluten free fact sheet and a few recipe cards.  I had no clue that Progresso has gluten free soups now… this will be a huge time saver over making my own creamy soup base.

One of our favorite mainstream gluten free foods is RICE CHEX.  Polka Dot Mommy has always LOVED Rice Chex- the plain, ordinary, simple kind (with a drizzle of honey and sliced banana, YUM-O!).  My kids do not share this love.  However, they do adore Honey Nut Chex, Cinnamon Chex, and Chocolate Chex.  We love having a cost effective gluten free cereal option, but I do limit the frequency of purchase because like all traditional cereal products, they contain BHT.

I’ve mentioned the new Bisquick Gluten Free mix in a previous post.  We ❤❤❤ pancakes made with this mix (and the addition of an egg, coconut milk, & oil).  Kenzie Dear can cook up a batch of golden pancakes in no time and with no help.  I find this astonishing… she is only eight afterall.  We received a box of this mix in our General Mills/Live Gluten Freely package -AND- I was sent another pack to try out from the Bisquick folks.  The individual package included a pancake pen (oh, the fun we are having!), a cast iron biscuit pan, a blue turner, and the box of gf Bisquick.

I must say… double thanks to all the product suppliers who are including brightly colored utensils (General Mills sent a bright red, Betty Crocker spoon and Bisquick sent the blue turner).  Bright colored serving & preparation tools really help with preventing cross contamination in a combined kitchen. For ease of preparation I highly recommend the Bisquick GF mix (at least for pancakes), we still haven’t gotten around to biscuits… but I have a full box waiting and that will be a post all to itself.  *Waiting with baited breath*.

Bisquick Gluten Free Prize Pack!

The fabulous folks over at Bisquick have offered one of you, my incredible readers a gift pack!  (My gift pack included GF Bisquick, cast iron pan, turner, & pancake pen.) You can enter a total of three times:

1). Leave a comment.  Let me know if you’ve tried Bisquick Gluten Free and what you’d make first with it!

2). Tweet this give away @PolkaDotMommy.  Come back and leave a comment letting me know you’ve tweeted.

3). Share this give away on your blog.  Come back and leave a comment with the url of your post.

Comments are open until 10 am PST on Friday, Nov. 19, 2010.  Contest is open to readers with shipping addresses within the United States.   Winner will be contacted via email and will have three days to respond with their shipping information.  Winners information will be sent to Bisquick for fulfillment.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in GF Shopping, Gluten Free, Reviews, Win Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Live Gluten Freely & A Give AWAY!!!!!

  1. ~M says:

    I have not yet tried Bisquick, but if I win, I could!

  2. Caryn says:

    I have purchased gluten free bisquick, and it sits in my cupboard, but have not yet used it because I just barely found an egg replaced Logan can have. I will first attempt to make biscuits/dumplings with the mix tonight for dinner. Yes, that was the original menu plan. 😉

  3. Caryn says:

    I tweeted about the giveaway @ihave7monsters

  4. Amanda says:

    I’m would love to try it and win it! Love seeing all the different products out there Jaime!

  5. Dena says:

    We made “traditional” Bisquick pancakes — Yum! Next time… pizza crust 🙂

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention Live Gluten Freely & A Give AWAY!!!!! | Looks Good in Polka Dots -- Topsy.com

  7. Mary Sharp says:

    I haven’t tried it yet but, I’d love to try the Impossible Cheeseburger Pie. I used to make it all the time before I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease.

  8. Shane R. says:

    We haven’t tried it yet, but I would make pizza crust with it!

  9. Shane R. says:

    We follow you on Twitter!
    @rosanovfamily

    and we tweeted:

    rosanonovfamily Rosanova Family
    RT @polkadotmommy Gluten Free Bisquick Give Away! https://looksgoodinpolkadots.wordpress.com/2010/11/16/live-gluten-freely-a-give-away/

  10. Lesley M. says:

    I’d go all out and make the cheeseburger pie/casserole …

  11. Pingback: Gluten Free Gift Pack Give-Away | Looks Good in Polka Dots

  12. Monex says:

    The simple explanation is that the major ingredient in Bisquick is wheat flour and the major ingredient in Bisquick Gluten Free is rice flour. These two ingredients perform extremely different in recipes thus a Bisquick recipe needs to be modified somewhat to work with Gluten Free Bisquick. Do not tap cup or pack Bisquick…C.Measure liquid carefully at eye level in standard liquid measuring cup…D.To maintain freshness store Bisquick Gluten Free in an airtight container or plastic bag refrigerate or freeze.

Leave a Reply

