Today’s Unrelated Thoughts…

This is totally an off topic post for this blog, but, I’m going to write it anyway.  Why? Because it has been ONE OF THOSE days.

By now, all you regular readers know that my marriage dissolved.  That means, I’m a single parent. I don’t relish being single.  Not one minute of it.  I get mixed responses from friends and family on this topic… some say, “enjoy it!”, others say, “but you do it so well!”, and then there are those that say, “find a husband, quick!”.

In all honesty, it wouldn’t be hard for me to find a husband, quick.  I have standing offers in that department.  The problem is, I have RULES.  The recent days have set me to ponder whether these rules should exist or not…

Rule #1- must be Catholic

Rule #2- must be a family man (this is individual… I can’t put into words what qualifies)

Rule #3- must be motivated (this isn’t related to cash flow, but ambition, willingness to work hard at whatever task is at hand)

Rule #4- must be open to more children (this is a huge one for me)

Those are pretty straight forward, and I don’t think terribly difficult. However, today, I realized that I actually have a 5th rule that is impossible.  That he fits into my life.  In case you haven’t noticed… I have a very busy, full life.  I run an in home daycare which causes a great deal of daily chaos (not to mention mess).  I am raising my children + my sister… I’m homeschooling… I teach Catechism (chair the bazaar, don’t say no when asked to do things)…

We eat special diets… I have some extreme views (at least what some people believe are extreme)…

I have my set way of doing things… I have this dream of off grid living with self sustainability… I like the simple life… I adore children and would love a whole passel of them…

Is it possible that I won’t meet a man who fits into this “image” I have?  I’m thinking yes.  Is it possible that I will have to re-evaluate and shape my life to his… yes it is.

So, now I am pondering things in a whole new light… what that will reveal, I don’t know.

Looking back over this post,  I see my love of ellipsis is prevalent.  Even when used incorrectly.  I do know how to write without them, but my thoughts are always so full, that they seem appropriate somehow.

Cheers!

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Catholic, Family, Nuff Said. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Today’s Unrelated Thoughts…

  1. mamajil says:

    I think your rules as you called them sound like good boundries Sometimes when we find ourselves having to walk a trail we didn’t anticipate its good to have boundries it keeps us from being distracted or lower our standards. Jerimiah 29:11 keeps rolling in my mind just thougth I’d share it with you: Jeremiah 29:11 (New International Version)
    11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.
    I pray that the joy of the Lord will be your strength and that you will not grow weary in your journey!! Blessings to you and your family

  2. Mamajil— you are always such an inspiration. Thank you for your words… they mean more than I can express!

    I’m figuring this out… one day at a time. It’s not a place I ever wanted to be… but I’m here and we will thrive!

  3. Laura says:

    When you are a single parent these rules/boundaries are vital. You need to set them up to protect yourself and your family!

    If thats what YOU want then dont settle!

  4. Thanks Laura! I just have this terrible habit of over analyzing everything. In the past, I went with my head… what I thought was the right choice and obviously, that didn’t pan out! Now, I’m rethinking the whole being madly in love with someone even if they don’t meet “the rules”.

Leave a Reply

