Eating Clean

Over the last few months, our family has transitioned from an all natural/organic diet to include a traditional and clean diet.

What exactly does this mean?  We still purchase organic or at the very least all natural foods (which means reading the labels because all natural really means nothing).  In addition, I’m using a combination of Nourishing Traditions and The Eat Clean Diet (Tosca Reno).

I feed 12 people on about $800/month… so it doesn’t have to break the bank.

What our meals look like:

Breakfast- Oatmeal + raw almonds + fruit (dried cranberries or mixed berries) + flax seeds (slightly crushed to release oils).  -OR- High quality seed bread (like Dave’s) + 2 Tbs Almond Butter and an apple.

Snack- Hard boiled egg + salad greens -OR- Kefir smoothie (kefir, spinach, mixed berries, banana).

Lunch- Chicken breast + brown rice + zucchini + mushrooms -OR- Salad w/ home canned tuna + cooked quinoa.

Snack- Small handful almonds + raisins -OR- yogurt + berries -OR- veggie crudites + kefir ranch dip

Dinner- Tilapia, shrimp, scallops + rice noodles + chicken stock + veggies

Snack- Kefir smoothie -OR- homemade power bar

This is VERY easy to do on a gluten free diet… and since I make everything from scratch its also easier to stay within our budget.  I make the kefir myself from whole milk (preferably non-homo and raw, but it is more expensive), I buy organic spinach in bulk and try to stick with vegetables that are in season and avaliable locally.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Food, Gluten Free, Nourishing Traditions. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eating Clean

  1. That is so cool! I was reading it at first thinking “Sure, you eat healthy. But what does it cost?” and then you told me! Lol! I was really impressed. We really should try harder. Do you ever eat out?

  2. Laura says:

    I am trying now to keep my whole family off gluten and lactose as far as I can (only my daughter and I are intolerant) but its a battle here in South Africa – alot of the products you mention here we do not get or they are expensive.

    So for now I am trying to keep it as fresh and organic as I can!

  3. @Lacy- we rarely eat out. When we do, we still try to avoid fried foods and make good choices!

    @Laura- Good for you! The best thing to do is eat food in its natural state… that way you are getting good, whole foods without adding junk.

Leave a Reply

