A Day In The Life & Why Family Matters

Today started much like any other day with a little semi-deep theological discussion and moved on to enjoy a wonderful cup of hot coffee laced with chocolate caramel creamer followed by breakfast with the kids (9 of them).  Then I packed a lunch for the one first grader in my care and sent her off to school.  We’ve enjoyed free play time, some joyful music, snack time, and kissed a few boo-boo’s.

I even managed to put real clothing on (although it is only jeans and a tee) and brush my teeth AND hair this morning.  A small miracle indeed.

Something came to me this morning during a conversation with a very wonderful friend… I’m missing having a family support system.  Missing as in not just that its absent, but that the absence is feeding an unfulfilled need in my life and the holes are growing larger.  It’s the silly things like not having a Dad around (as a single Mom, Dad’s come in handy) to hammer loose boards back in and share a cup of coffee.  Or a Mom to share a chat with or remind me of where to find that favorite recipe.

In the past, I’ve tried to fill those holes with a husband and the family we created… now I’m figuring out how to do that on my own since I obviously wasn’t successful on the marriage front.

Maybe I should look into adopting a Dad… 🙂

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Family, Losing Mom, Nuff Said and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Day In The Life & Why Family Matters

  1. Caryn says:

    I’m loving this blog! You have no idea how much I would just love to pick your brain about GFCF eating, family, mothering, and a million other things. I just started a blog… about and for my youngest son who is high functioning autistic, non seeking SPD, has multiple severe food allergies, and unexplained seizures. I’m the mother of seven… but Logan, my littlest, makes me feel like I have no idea what I’m doing.

  2. Caryn- I can totally relate to feeling clueless! It’s a constantly evolving world! Feel free to ask me any questions… I’m glad to offer whatever help I can!

  3. Caryn says:

    I’d love to ask you some questions about diet, especially for a two year old that has SO MANY allergies, as well as incorporating this diet into the menu for the whole family. I have some seriously picky teenagers, as well as a picky Daddy. What would be the best way to do this without cramming up your blog comments?
    Caryn

  4. Caryn- feel free to email me anytime at PolkaDotMommy (at) gmail (dot) com.

    🙂

  5. Pingback: It Costs How Much to Feed My Family? | Looks Good in Polka Dots

Leave a Reply

