If Jesus Had a Cell Phone…

Here’s an interesting topic for discussion I found over at The Religion Teacher… I’ll be posing it to my CCD class of 4th, 5th, and 6th graders this week.

If Jesus had a cell phone, who’d be His “fave five”…

I’m curious to see who the kids might say… Mary, The Pope, Our Priest?  The key is to show them how all encompassing God’s love for us is, that we’d all be in His five… it’s part of the great mystery of faith.

Here’s an excerpt I love from The Religion Teacher…

I wish I could recall the name of the priest who told the story of a young student asking him why Jesus chose that particular year and that particular day and why he had to die on the cross. The priest, then a seminarian, gave a deep catechetical response that fit perfectly with the Church’s teaching on the fullness of time and the historical background to Roman execution practices, etc. But finally, the student proposed another reason. He said, “you know, I think there is something else. I think Jesus was crucified in that year, on that day, in that hour so he could save the good thief.”

That’s how Awesome our God is!

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Catholic, Family, Kids and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to If Jesus Had a Cell Phone…

  1. mamajil says:

    what a great post I teach middle school Sunday school and I am definitely going to ask them this on Sunday!

  2. Jared Dees says:

    Thanks for the shout out, pokladotmommy! I’d love to hear how the conversation goes with your kids. You never know what responses you’ll get.

  3. Cecelia Sabol says:

    Jared Dees is my son and he sent me this link to your blog. I have Celiac Disease and eat gluten free. You have done a nice job here!!

  4. Thanks for stopping by Cecelia… It’s always great to hear from others who share our experiences! You have a brilliant son!

  5. Jared~ I’ll definitely let you know! All the adults I’ve shared this thought with seem to enjoy the conversation, hopefully the children will as well!

  6. MamaJil~ I’d love to hear what your group has to say… they are just a step ahead of mine, so it’ll be interesting to hear the evolution of thoughts!

Leave a Reply

