Say It Isn’t So… We Are Wired!

The PolkaDot Household is officially back online… errr… or just online in the new residence, since we’ve never been online in this fabulous new to us, yet wonderfully old home we inhabit.

I have laptops on the way for the kids… ETA is about 2 weeks, but we are not waiting to start school.  Kaylee Girl chose apple green as this is her new favorite color and Kenzie Dear chose pink (Mommies personal favorite).  Yes, this means no MacBooks for my darling daughters… it was purely a financial decision and I’m not thrilled, but resigned.  At least they will have computers at hand which is more than a lot of our homeschooling friends have.

I’m about to order either Parallels or VMware and subdivide my MacBook… so that I can run Windows XP… I don’t want to but work clients require it and I’m not turning down work.  It’s either that or use a Windows based laptop for much of my work and frankly, I’m too in love with my Mac to do that!  If you’ve used either program, I’d love to hear about it.

Weekend plans…

Well, I’ll be teaching my first class on Sunday.  It’s grown to include 4th, 5th, and 6th graders.  Should be a great combination!  I ordered a Catholic Books of the Bible (all 73 books) CD by Carol Fisher and can’t wait for it to arrive.  (I only know of one such music CD in existence, you can find it here.)  I’ve also ordered some extra Youth Bibles, Prayer Books, and a copy of Our Catholic Faith to use in class and home.  It’s been brought to my attention that a lot of Catholics don’t know the Bible as well as our Protestant friends… this has never been an issue for me because I read the Bible daily (except when I don’t).  So, I am going to focus on teaching the children how to use the Bible, how to locate passages, and attempt to inspire regular reading.  I’m excited.  I have at least one parent helper who appears to be almost as excited as I am, so I’m thinking we will make a good Catechist team. I have a fun Christian playlist set up on the iPod and am ready to rock these 10-12 year olds into a pre-youth group frenzy.

Our local dinner and movie theater (insert- CHEAP) has the Ramona movie playing so I am thinking the girls and I might try to catch that at some point.

The teenager has all kinds of crazy going on, she decided to go back to the High School after all (on the first day of school no less).  The kid can’t make up her mind.

I also have some grown up plans in the mix and hopefully I will get some writing and web design work done… should be a busy, fun filled weekend!

Cheers!

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Catholic, Family, Homeschool, Kids and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

