Kids Music? Really…

I’ve spent a bit of time today poking around on iTunes so I can load up the iPod for my CCD class… I’ve been on a search for good quality music for 10-12 year olds that will add a little “youth group” feel to the class.

I have an issue, and you, my darling readers get to hear about it.

“WHAT THE HECK IS UP WITH MUSIC TODAY?”.  Seriously…

All the children’s music is very young sounding… so not a good fit for this group.  All the rest of the music is NOT OK.

I clicked on the Radio Disney Album (you know, music geared toward kids in the age group I’m working with).

Here’s a sampling of the titles…

*Fallin For You

*He Could Be The One

*Give Love a Try

Ummmm… yeah… because my tween daughter should be listening to lyrics about teenage romance?  I think not.  Heck, I don’t even listen to music with those lyrics.

What ever happened to good, clean music… you know, about surfing and doing the twist?  Now, that’s good stuff!

*In full disclosure, I was able to find plenty of Christian music to make my playlist.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Catholic, Family, Kids, Nuff Said. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kids Music? Really…

  1. Tony says:

    I’m with you…what’s up with certain songs trying to pass themselves off as kids music? Yeesh.

    And for that matter…what’s up with the many movies that say they’re OK for kids and they have lots of unmentionables?

    I’d love to have you check out my tunes on iTunes. It’s a collection of original lullabies. If you’re interested, let me know, and I’ll show you where to find ’em.

    Tony

Leave a Reply

