What Happiness Looks Like

It’s been brought to my attention several times over the last couple of months that I am a happy person… I guess I’ve always known this but sometimes we get mucked down in the mire of life and lose our happy for a bit. I began reflecting on how to keep my happy (so that it shines out onto others) even when I’m feeling a little less than thrilled.

My motto is “Fake it til you make it”… that is, even when I’m feeling not so happy, I put a smile on.  Sometimes it means being absolutely silly, singing crazy made up songs with the kids or talking in a ridiculous voice or quoting my favorite Monty Python quips.  Whatever makes me giggle.  This forced happy leads to real happy, honest!

I also think I’m in pretty good terms with the status of my life… I’ve made poor decisions (and who hasn’t) and I’ve learned and grown from each and every one of them.  I accept life as it is, I know what I want to change and how to implement that change.

I’ve learned that no one else can be responsible for my happiness.  True happiness must come from within, it comes from God and the knowledge that “happy” all the time isn’t what God intended for us… peace, love, joy, suffering, sacrifice… and so much more is what God has planned for each of us.

I’m in a place where I can welcome another into my life if God sends him to me… but I don’t “need” a man.  That is, I am not looking for a savior, I already have mine in Jesus.

So, yes, this little light of mine… I’m going to let it shine! If ever you happen upon me and my light appears a little dim, give me a little “nudge, nudge, wink, wink!”.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Nuff Said, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Happiness Looks Like

  1. It’s always interesting reading about what makes people happy. Thanks for sharing.

  2. enkidu13 says:

    Shed your light and speak from authority! ( D It’s the small ones who are the strongest (I don’t know why but this is coming out of me : P.) I really like it. It’s also how I’ve lived: Always giving and loving though I was down and depressed. I think your words are beautiful and I am relieved to see I’m not alone ( D Blessings!
    – Enkidu

  3. enkidu13 says:

    Oh, and you said it! I have my way of saying it too: Love isn’t life through rose colored (joy and happiness) glasses. Love is a transparent force that illuminates all things (E-motion included.) : P

Leave a Reply

