Back to School = Home to School

I’m doing my happy dance… can you see me? Awesome!

It’s that time of year… BACK TO SCHOOL time.  We are officially on our way to HOME SCHOOL, which I am absolutely thrilled about.

For those of you who are new here… I’ll fill you in on the joys of my world.

1). I’m a single Mama with four children aged 5-17.

2). We are strongly CONSERVATIVE Catholic Christians.

3). I do in home daycare as a way to touch the lives of other children while allowing me to support our household and be home to raise my own children. (I supplement our income with writing and free lance work.)

4). This means that on any given day, there may be up to a dozen children in my care.

5). I’m doing a preschool curriculum with the daycare in addition to homeschooling my own crew.

6). I’m also teaching 5/6th grade Catechism -AND- chairing our church annual holiday bazaar.

7).  Yes, I’m likely a bit crazy.

Our homeschool world is already evolving even though we barely have our feet in the door.  We have been incredibly BLESSED… a neighboring school district just launched their pilot home school alliance program.  This program will help pay for our curriculum (the secular parts), computers/technology, supplemental resources, and internet.  My happy dance just turned into a jig. 🙂

I came across this fun preschool curriculum, Catholic ABC’s, that I will be using (with some adaptation so I don’t offend my non-Catholic daycare families).  Thanks Lacy at Catholic Icing!

I’m in the process of ordering computers for my children.  Thanks to this wonderful home school alliance, I have a budget of $800 per child.  I’m debating about ordering 2 MacBooks for them to share (which is my preference) or buying each child a less expensive Windows based laptop (a third thought is buying them all iPads, must do more research to see if that will fit their needs).  I like the idea of each child having access to a laptop so that we can all use them simultaneously… but I don’t relish the idea of my creative youngsters using a Windows based OS.  Sharing is good, right?

In addition to this awesome program… our local community has a homeschool co-op that provides PE, Spanish, and Art AT NO COST… seriously, could we be in any better community?

Now I just have to figure out the logistics of juggling 10-12 kiddos from multiple households (and energy levels) while effectively educating and promoting the value set that God intended for us.

Pray for us. 🙂

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Catholic, Family, Homeschool, Homeschool Curriculum, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to School = Home to School

  1. Joanna says:

    I’d stay away from the ipads, too many bugs still, and the screen is very fragile. I’d go for the shared Mac laptops, personally, but I’m a Mac addict.

  2. Joanna… I’m a huge Apple fan as well. I’m really leaning toward MacBooks. I might get the 17yo an iPad though… She really wants one!

  3. Yay! I hope Catholic ABC’s ends up being useful for you. I know I’m excited about really digging in here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

