Busy August Life

I’ve just about reconciled with the fact that I do have to get back online pretty soon.  Notice I say, ABOUT.  I’ll get there soon.  With the traditional school year starting, I’m going to kick off our homeschooling as well.

Recently I completed therapeutic foster care pre certification training. I’ve spent most days with 8-10 kids in tow (and yes, I do still want more of my own).  I’m in a period of limbo while the rest of my certification for fostering gets underway, prayerfully we will add a family member soon!

In case you are curious, we are using My Father’s World curriculum.  We are also using teaching textbooks for mathematics and Generations of Virtue for purity training.  Ideally, we will be out and about (at least around Oregon) a lot this school year.  I’m envisioning a lot of long weekends spent exploring history and all the natural wonders of this great state.  I found an amazing blog, Catholic Icing which will provide us with plenty of fun activities to help explore our faith.

I’m definitely open to suggestions for curriculum and homeschool resources!  I have joined a local homeschool co-op and have many family friends in the homeschool world… so I’m hoping to ride on their coat tails a bit!

My plan in the blogosphere and my other writing avenues is to be back full force by, oh, mid- September.  Time will tell. There have been a lot of life changes this summer which I won’t publicly discuss… but things are smoothing out now.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Catholic, Homeschool, Homeschool Curriculum and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Busy August Life

  1. Karen Joy says:

    It sounds like you’re doing well! I’m happy you’re going to be able to give homeschooling a shot; I know you’ve wanted to for quite some time.

    I love Teaching Textbooks! I’m really NOT into online/computer homeschooling, so I didn’t know if I’d care for TT, but they’re produced so well — I like them a lot, and so did my two older boys who used it this past year. (The only thing I don’t like is a teensy complaint about the gradebooks, but I think they may have rectified that problem…)

    And, riding on the coattails of other hs’ing moms is the way to go, IMO. I’m glad you have a lot of local support. 🙂

  2. Thanks Karen Joy… I’m very excited so far. Hopefully that enthusiasm will carry me through the tough times!

Leave a Reply

