The Journey To Homeschool

*This is my first mobile post, please blame typos on my iPhone or my colluge.

We are settled (mostly) into our new (1918) home and we are loving it here. I’m still offline for a couple more weeks so I’m mobile… Here’s praying this works!

We’ve officially begun our full house prep for homeschool.

I’m reading a lot (mum may learn more than the children this year!). And my must read list is growing.

Current read: Love in a Time of Homeschooling by Laura Brodie

Review to come, so far (93 pages in) it’s mostly great.

I attended parts of the Ocean conference with young ones in tow. I learned a lot. Next year I hope to go sans young children so I can sit in on more seminars.

I’ve chosen My Fathers World for our curriculum. More on that later.

We’ve set up daycare/preschool space on our lowest (daylight basement) level and are organizing the homeschool cupboard in our eat in kitchen area. This allows separation so the older kids can learn. We are still figuring out the schedule but I’m envisioning Teengirl helping with preschool activities while Mum works with the bigger kids upstairs.

I’m researching free and low cost homeschool activities as the budget doesn’t allow for much expense!

Advice is welcome… We still have a long way to go!

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Catholic, Family, Kids and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Journey To Homeschool

  1. Karen Joy says:

    Haven’t been on your blog in a while! But, I’m *thrilled* that you’re going to homeschool all your children this coming year! That’s wonderful!

    Have you found a local homeschooling group? If you find one that fits your personality, they can be a huge support. Although I have been to ones that wanted my left arm in dues and a whole day or two of my week in commitments, plus sign a statement of faith that I may or may not agree with, and where everyone is jostling for position and power. NOT fun, NOT supportive. But, I’m in a very laid-back one… have been for a little over a year, and I’m really loving it. The thing that’s so great is that most of us are different personalities, and using different curricula, so there’s a wide range of experiences, and whatever the need is, SOMEone has a helpful suggestion.

    So, especially since it’s your first year with children (I don’t think TeenGirl really counts as a child), if you can find a group that clicks with you, I think it will help you persevere and find answers for all the challenges that you can’t really anticipate.

    In absence of that (or addition to), a good online support group is helpful, too. I’m sure you know MFW has one.

    I hope you have time to post about your journey as a homeschooler!!!!

Leave a Reply

