Amazingly Delicious Almost Grain Free Scones

Gluten Free Almond Flour Scones

I adore Elana’s Pantry (and who doesn’t?)… I haven’t purchased her cookbook yet, but I plan to at some point soon.  The other day, I was looking around for a grain free/almond flour based scone recipe and came up with NADA, since her website is basically the only resource I can find for almond flour recipes.  Anyway, the point here is that she has inspired me in my quest to remove grains from our diet and I couldn’t find a scone recipe on her site (or anywhere else for that matter!).

I experimented with scone recipes and the end result was yummy!

1/2 cup coconut flour

1 1/2 cup almond flour (packed)

1/2 cup starch (arrowroot powder or tapioca starch)

1/4 cup sucanat or coconut palm sugar (or 2-3 Tbs agave added to eggs prior to almond milk to equal the one cup of liquid)

1 Tbs xanthan gum

1 Tbs aluminum free baking powder

1 tsp sea salt

1/2 cup coconut oil, liquified

2 eggs, lightly beaten plus enough almond milk to equal 1 cup

1 tsp vanilla extract

Optional: For a savory treat, remove the sweetener and add herbs of choice and some grated cheese or seeds if desired.

Toppings: I used blackberries, raspberries, and dark chocolate and then sprinkled a tiny bit of organic sugar cane on top.

Combine your dry ingredients.  Lightly beat the eggs in a glass measuring cup.  Add liquid sweetener if using and then enough almond milk to equal 1 cup.  Add vanilla.  Combine with dry ingredients.  After the initial mix in, I used my hands to get a nice ball of dough.

To roll out, I covered the baking sheet with parchment. Then I placed the ball of dough in the center and patted into a nice, thick, round “cake”, about 1 inch thick.  Then I sliced in 8 triangles using my pizza cutter and gently moved the wedges apart.  Next, I topped each piece with the desired goodies (chocolate on two, raspberries on two, and blackberries on two).  I then brushed with a bit of almond milk and sprinkled with sugar crystals.  Bake at 350F for 25-30 minutes (checking half way through and rotate if needed).

Allow to cool on the pan for a few minutes, for best taste, enjoy warm.

*I’m not sure if these are completely SCD friendly

*This was the most pliable gluten free dough I’ve ever worked with

*Because almond flour is so filling, this would work well divided into two balls of dough and 16 smaller wedges

*I’m thinking peaches next time

Don’t forget to enter the WoW Baking Co. Give Away!

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Amazingly Delicious Almost Grain Free Scones

  1. SCDieters are not allowed to have starch or sugars (only honey). Nor are they allowed to have baking powder (I’m not sure why). And I stay away from things like xantham gum–I don’t know if it’s a personal preference or an actual restriction… I’ve been on the diet so long, I can’t remember! 😀

    Wonderful recipe, though, and I think it could easily be adapted for SCD. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Denise, Thanks for your feedback! I know a lot of SCDieters that use agave… is that technically still a no-no? We are just starting to ease into SCD, and may never be 100%. I was under the impression thought that arrowroot was ok… any thoughts?

  3. You’re quite welcome. 🙂

    Agave “syrup” is a no-no for SCDieters because it contains inulin, a fructose polymer which stimulates the growth of bad bacteria in the digestive tract (I know–yuck :). I’m not sure if agave nectar and agave syrup are the same thing; to be on the safe side, I just group the two together.

    As for arrowroot, it is “illegal” because it has starch in it.

  4. Amy G. says:

    This recipe looks super yummy! I’m going to have to try it out.
    We as a family have recently gone gluten free because of my son, and his severe ADHD. I can not believe the difference, who knew wheat could do some much!
    I just wanted to say thanks. You have been a wonderful resource for us, and I love to come here when I can and read the awesome things you are doing. It inspires me to do more.
    God bless, and thank you!
    Amy G.

  5. Amy- I’m thrilled to hear the gluten free diet is helping… It really is amazing to see what dietary changes can do! Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Pam Perkins says:

    What can be used as a substitute for xantham gum?

    I’ve read elsewhere that inulin is a prebiotic which promotes the growth of good bacteria. Wonder if it promotes growth of “bacteria” in general.

    I’ve read that agave is no better for you than high fructose corn syrup. Even blue agave.

    With the mixed info we get, can be tough to know.

    These scones look like something I’ll give a try. Thanks.

  7. I’d bet you could leave the xantham gum out… if you need more hold together, a bit of gelatin or ground flax might do the trick.

  8. Pam Perkins says:

    Then I’m guessing that ground chia could work, too.

  9. Pingback: Gluten Free Scones | Low Carb Scones | Frugal, Freebies and Deals

  10. Wonderful article. awesome content I look forward to reading your other
    posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

