The Low Down on Probiotics

(Disclaimer:  I am not a medical professional or in any way “qualified” to give advice.  I’m just a Mom trying to figure things out.  So I read.  I talk.  I blog. Read it or not, that choice is yours.)

I’m a big believer in the “all things are connected” theory with our bodies.  It makes sense that if things are going wrong somewhere, they may just be a symptom of a bigger problem. Let me just illustrate this by the example of my PCOS (PolyCystic Ovarian Syndrome).  PCOS has been linked to Insulin Resistance (a precursor to adult onset diabetes).  I have a HUGE family history of diabetes, so I’m not undermining the genetic link here.  I do know that by controlling my diet (and my body weight), I can drastically reduce my risk of getting diabetes.  By controlling my diet and weight, I reduce the PCOS symptoms by altering the issue with Insulin Resistance.  The bigger or underlying problem here is Insulin Resistance with symptoms from PCOS (which are MANY).

That bigger problem is often linked to our diet, or should I say the modern way of eating.

Let’s face it, all this crud we eat on a daily basis is not good for us.  I think we all know that.  But when you look deeper and start to realize that your frequent headaches, gall bladder pain, sinus infections, getting colds frequently, bowel issues, ALLERGIES, aches and pains, depression, blood sugar spikes (or drops)…  are all related to the stuff we put in our bodies (or what we don’t put in!).

We used to eat a lot of fermented foods, it was one of the few ways to preserve food.  Those fermented foods fed our bellies (and intestinal tract) full of GOOD BACTERIA or probiotics.  Modern medicine is helping to kill off our good bacteria.  Modern food is not putting any back in (and in fact, might be feeding the bad bacteria which further offsets the balance).

Doctors recognize the importance of probiotics.  Have you ever received the advice (along with your prescription for antibiotics) to get a probiotic supplement or eat a carton of yogurt each day?  Probably, if you listen, that is. 🙂

I’m delving into all kinds of information that link issues like Autism and ADHD to an imbalance in this positive flora.  (There is a ton of information out there about this, here’s one at The Autism News).   There is also positive information leaning toward probiotics helping reduce allergies.  The theory is that when that flora balance is off, we are off.  When we feel off, our behavior illustrates that.

What probiotics should I be getting?

L. acidophilus, L. rhamnasus, L. plantarum, B. longum, B. bifidum

How do I get probiotics into my body:

Take them in pill, powder, or liquid form.

Purchase good quality yogurts (no high fructose corn syrup).  Read the label for presence of probiotics.

Make your own yogurt.

Ferment foods.

Make kefir “soda”.

Recommended Reads:

Nourishing Traditions

The GAPS Diet

The Weston A. Price Foundation

Autism Help 4 You

No Harm Foundation

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Supplemental Nutrition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Low Down on Probiotics

  1. jilma says:

    Great post love the links thank you for sharing the info!!

  2. Thanks Jilma… I’m just beginning to grasp all the ways probiotics can help!

Leave a Reply

