32 Years…

Today, I’m 32. Do me a favor… look at this photo of me at 16… then look up at my header… that little 8 year old on the right?  That’s my Kaylee… is it just me, or could we almost be the same person? 🙂

The last year has seen changes… the passing of my dear mother… learning that my little sis is expecting her first baby… watching my babies grow bigger (and almost as tall as me)… growing friendships… trying to downsize all the responsibilities I pile on myself… growing stronger, fuller, more fulfilled in my relationship with Christ.

As I look at photographs of me at 16, I’m pondering…

Where did I think I would be in my life?  Did I really even think about myself as a 32 year old?

I don’t think so… I had vague notions of having a family, lots of kids, possibly a job as a teacher, although I never really wanted to do anything other than be a wife and mother.

I didn’t really evaluate what my life would be like.  If I had, would I have forecast this life?  Honestly, I have no clue.  Somedays, I wake up and think, “what the heck happened?”.  Other days, I think, “I have the most amazing life”.   Most days, I’m just thankful for life, for my God, for my children and my husband… and all the rest of you too!

One thing I know for sure… I did think I’d always be thin and cute. 🙂

Wonder where 16 more years will see me?

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Nuff Said. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 32 Years…

  1. jilma says:

    Happy Birthday!!! 32 is a great age!! oh and at 16 we never think we will EVER be 30 something lol!! I hope its a great one for you!!!

Leave a Reply

