Writings of an Almost Nine Year Old

I’ve sent the girls in to clean their bedroom… AGAIN.  How they manage to destroy a bedroom so quickly is beyond the realm of my understanding.

To motivate them a bit, I assign each girl one task at a time… K2 pick up and put away all the clothing, clean and dirty.  K3 collect and organize all the Barbie’s, gear and their house. Little Critter collect all the garbage (where, oh where does all that garbage come from?). Once those tasks are done I assign new ones.  I also sat down on the floor and started tossing Barbies into their storage box (literally a box, that formerly held oranges… I think we got it on a Costco trip, its just the right size to slide under the bed).  During this time, I picked up K2’s black binder of writing samples from school this year.  I flipped it open and found a story K2 had written on her own last month.  Here it is…notice the writing format, its the one she’s been using all year to form stories with a cohesive thought, and a beginning, middle and an end.  I’m quite impressed with her spelling as well… she only misspelled Cheryl, first and funeral.

Kaylee 6-13-09

The Best Grandma in the whole world would be my Grandma Cherl for a lot of reasons.  Frist, she died.  She died when she was 51 almost 52.  She died from ALS.  ALS is very bad because she could not talk or walk.  Second, she loved us and we loved her a lot. My Mom thought that my little sister was being a devil every time we came to visit but, my Grandma said she was her Angel. Third, we did not get to see her that much. Every time we would visit I gave her a hug and said goodbye.  I tried to give her as much love as I could.  Last, how much I miss her.  I miss her a lot because I cried when I knew she died, one night and at the funrl.  Now you know why my Grandma Cherl is the best in the whole world.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Kids, Losing Mom and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writings of an Almost Nine Year Old

  1. Laura says:

    How beautiful. I hope grandma Cheryl knew she was loved like that.

    I have saved just about everything my daughters wrote. What a treasure trove of their thoughts and personalities.

  2. Meg says:

    What a sweet little girl with beautiful thoughts of her Grandma.

  3. mamajil says:

    How very very sweet!!

Leave a Reply

