Saying Good Bye

I was awoken at 5:30 this morning to the news that my beloved Mother had ended her 3 1/2 year battle with ALS.

Today was spent making arrangments, visiting family, shelling out lots of cash and crying a lot.  The sun was shining and I couldn’t help but think, what a beautiful day this was that my mama had chosen to go to Heaven.

I stood in her closet this afternoon, sorting her clothing to donate and picking a few things for myself and my younger sisters.  I said, “Mama is laughing at us right now, already after her clothes!” and my sisters and I laughed.

We will miss our Mama something fierce, but we cannot be sad that she is no longer in pain and suffering the ravages of the cruelest of diseases.

Good Bye Mama… until we see you again, take good care of our Xandria.  We love you!

Cheryl Lynn Barclay June 6, 1957-April 21, 2009

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Losing Mom. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saying Good Bye

  1. I am very sad for your loss. I know this has been and issue for you for a while. Your family will be in my prayers.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Oh girl, I’m so sorry to hear this. I’ll be praying for you and your family. xoxo

  3. I can’t imagine the grief you are feeling. Know that you will be held gently in prayer today.

  4. Tenille says:

    I’m so so sorry for your loss. My prayers will be with you!

Leave a Reply

