It’s My Life…

I had this NOVEL idea of doing providing a little childcare.  For the last several months, that means I’ve been caring for an absolutely adorable, wonderful baby girl (who is now almost 8 months old).  It’s been fun and I get to send her home at night which means I don’t have to wake up for feeds and nappy changes.

Well, it seems our new house has brought a stroke of good luck… I started watching a 2 yo little boy today and tomorrow another nearly 2 yo (girl) will start.  My world has turned upside down changed.

Each of these animals children will be here only four days a week, and the days off are staggered, so there is only 2 days a week when all three little ones will be here together.  Add that to my little critter who is home during the day and I’ve got four under four.  Wow-wee!

Today, I’m plain tuckered out!  I forgot how active two year old little boys can be!  He was going constantly… if I turned my head for a minute- something would be unplugged, the dog would be let in or out, the dishwasher would be started, etc…

The extra income will be a blessing in these trying times… and hopefully I will be a blessing to these little children.

On another note, K2 (our 8 yo girl child) has hearing loss… we are praying that it is temporary.  She is on a 14 day round of Augmentin (and I detest antibiotics) to clear what looks like a chronic rhinitis and started on allergy meds.  In a couple weeks, once the green slime has disappeared from her nasal cavity, we will go in to the audiologist and find out if her hearing will recover.  Please keep her in your prayers! (I call her our HEALTHY child… not that hearing loss can’t occur in healthy kids, but so far she has been the only child without medical issues.  K1 has been healthy as a clam since his second round of ear tubes and having his adenoids removed… so I guess he can be considered healthy as well… though he has had three surgeries.

So, peeps… be in prayer: 1) So that I don’t lose my mind 2) That K2’s hearing will be A-OK 3) That I don’t lose my mind.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s My Life…

  1. Consider your family in my prayers…

  2. Karen Joy says:

    Oh, my goodness. I will certainly be praying that, once infection clears, that K2’s hearing is completely restored.

  3. Meg says:

    Sending prayers your way! And, um, well, you are a bit kooky anyway! 🙂

  4. Tenille says:

    I just saw this – hoping the hearing thing clears up soon!!! My husband went through something similar last winter, and after the second round of antibiotics, it did finally clear up and return to normal! I hope this is the case for you.

    As for the babysitting gig – best of luck to you, I can’t even imagine!

  5. jenefur says:

    So, how is her hearing now??

Leave a Reply

