Oh My… Amish Friendship Bread and GFCF Bread

I’ve been on a baking kick. 🙂

Photobucket

Amish Friendship Bread… when my SIL brought this baggie of goo over I had NEVER heard of Amish Friendship Bread, so I was game to give it a go.

Photobucket

And let me just say… it’s well worth the time investment. This bread is scrumptious. I am trying my hand at making a GFCF starter but haven’t had luck without dairy yet. It would seem that the milk is a requirement for the fermentation process. I’d love to hear if any of you have had luck with a dairy free version!

Photobucket
And here is my first go at GFCF bread baking… it turned out VERY well. I used a recipe from Gluten Free Cooking School and modified it to my own baking needs. I don’t have a bread machine, so I had to wing it in the oven.

Photobucket

I think it was a pretty good sized loaf (for GF!).

Photobucket

I used Sorghum flour which made it a bit tangy… I like it but will be using a different combination of flours each week until we figure out our favorite taste.

Here’s the recipe I ended up with:

1 Tbs. active dry yeast

1 Tbs. sugar (organic, evaporated cane as always)

1 1/2 c. warm water

1/2 c. sorghum flour

1/4 cup cornstarch

1/2 cup tapioca flour

1 1/4 cup white rice flour

2 tsp xanthan gum

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp kosher salt

2 eggs (or substitute like apple sauce or flax gel)

1 1/2 Tbs. olive oil

1 tsp. apple cider vinegar

In a small bowl, combine yeast, sugar and warm water. Mix gently and allow to bloom.

In another bowl, mix together all dry ingredients. Set aside.

In a third bowl, mix together eggs, oil and vinegar. Whisk well so it gets foamy.

Add the wet ingredients (yeast mixture and egg mixture) to dry ingredients.

Mix well. You will end up with more of a batter than a dough.

Liberally grease a 9×5 loaf pan. I used crisco for this and the bread came out beautifully.

Pour batter into pan and allow to rise in a warm (80-85 degree F) area for 60 minutes. I made my own “proofing” area by turning the oven on (so the heat rises through the top) and sitting the pan on the stove top. I then took a glass measuring cup, added boiling water and placed it next to the pan of dough on the stove top. Then I covered both the bread and water with a towel. This worked out very well, especially since we keep our house on the cooler side.

Once the dough has risen, bake at 375 degrees for about 40 minutes (give or take, that’s how long it took my loaf to turn crispy brown on the top). The bread should pull slightly away from the sides of the pan and be golden in color. Allow to cool in pan for about 10 minutes, then invert on a cooling rack.

This is really tasty with Earth Balance Margarine and honey. Yum…

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Food, Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh My… Amish Friendship Bread and GFCF Bread

  1. The friendship bread is a staple in our house, my wife has kept the rotation going for about a year now and it is the hit of the household. She passes it around regularly.

  2. Karen Joy says:

    I just found this! http://glutenfree4goofs.wordpress.com/2009/02/08/the-sourdough-mother/#comment-19

    She hasn’t posted the bread recipe, but the starter is simply organic brown rice flour and filtered (non-chlorinated) water. I haven’t tried it, but from what she’s researched, organic flour is more alive, so it works to ferment, and filtered water has no chlorine, so it doesn’t kill off the sourdough.

  3. glutenfree4goofs says:

    Ok, a little more about sourdough starter, I don’t know how it differs from the wheat version but my gf one seemed slow starting and too thick so I went 1:1 (flour/water) after the first week. Then it seemed too thin so I poured off the hooch (clear liquid on top) on occasion instead of mixing it back in. I thought I “killed” it the other day because I forgot it and then tried to feed it in the PM instead of the morning and then said a little prayer! HA I really didn’t have to worry, all the ladies who have experience with fermented bread “goo” say it is very forgiving and after my first week I have found that to be true. I didn’t see the bubbles that night because it wasn’t “feeding time” and in the morning, she was happy as can be, such a delight- and without coffee- darn her! I have not been happy with bread made from it yet but I’m very picky try your recipe above without the yeast and use 1/4- 1/2 cup of the starter instead of that same amount water, then give it much longer to rise -sorry- and bake. You may have to increase temp and time but just cover with tin foil after about 15min. so the loaf does not burn, bake until the loaf is a min of 190 degrees with an instant read therm. then let me know. I think the loaf above is beautiful, good job! I better put this “tutorial” (ha-ha)on my blog, thanks for getting me going.

Leave a Reply

