Eating, Alli & Gluten Free Recipes

Photobucket
A tasty snack… Nancy’s Organic Nonfat Vanilla Yogurt with frozen unsweetened mixed berries.

Today was my first day taking the Alli capsules. So far… so good. I’ve had ZERO treatment effects (despite eating out, which I will share in tomorrows post).

For Breakfast I enjoyed one slice whole grain toast with 1 Tbs. peanut butter, cup of coffee with 4 Tbs. Hazelnut CoffeeMate creamer and a serving of organic apple slices. Total calorie count = 380, Fat grams = 15

Photobucket

Lunch found me looking for something fulfilling. So, I toasted a tortilla on the griddle (both sides), then topped it with 3 Tbs. shredded cheese (the shredded cheese costs the same as the bricks at Costco, saves the work of shredding and allows easier portion control). I let the cheese melt while I sauteed some organic carrots and button mushrooms using fat free pan spray. I seasoned the veggies with salt and pepper. Then I place 2 oz lunch meat on the tortilla/cheese, topped with the sauteed veggies and lettuce. Then I rolled it all up into a cute wrap. This was one of the best lunches I’ve had in some time. Total calorie count = 371, Fat grams = 13.6

For snacks today I enjoyed a Stretch Island Fruit Leather in black cherry (45 cal) and a banana (cal 90).

I’m not going to tell you about tonights dinner/eating out adventure yet. Patience. Instead I will tell you what we ate last night…

Photobucket

Fried potatoes with mushrooms and ground turkey, seasoned with garlic, salt and pepper and topped with shredded cheese. Yummy. I fried one pound of lean ground turkey(99% lean), added 2 jumbo sized potatoes (washed and diced) and about 10 large button mushrooms (washed and sliced). I had to add 2 teaspoons of olive oil to facilitate the potatoes cooking without burning/drying out the meat. This was a super quick… super easy… ONE PAN… Gluten Free dinner. I had one and a half cups of the mix topped with one tablespoon of shredded cheese. (This goes great with a side salad.) Calorie count = 363, Fat grams = 7

A trick I’ve learned in the last couple of days… if you add oil to an already hot pan, you need much less than if you put it in a cold pan and then heat it up. We use fat free cooking spray whenever possible, but occasionally go for olive oil in the pan.

Of course, Oregon Dad and the family are all eating the same foods, Oregon Dad gets more because a male needs more calories.  TeenGirl is also on a modified calorie and fat regime (without using Alli because she’s a growing girl) because of her health and weight fluctuations over the last year.  She is eating 1600-1800 calories a day and I’m trying to get her outside more (she is VERY sedentary).  The kids get to eat as much as they want/need and usually have a couple more snacks than I do.  They also get to drink soy, rice or nut milks and occasional juice.   I’m sticking with water and limited coffee.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Adventures in Alli, Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

