ALLI?!?!?!?!

I’ve succumbed to a DIET. I don’t diet… however, since May I have packed on about 20 pounds and that’s not making me happy. (I’m blaming the weight gain on the two surgeries I’ve had + numerous medications I’ve been on.)

So… when Hubs and I did our HUGE grocery shopping at Costco, I picked up the Alli pack. It was a great deal, 100 days of pills for $68.00. I’m skeptical but have heard great things.

Here’s what I like-

  • It works in the intestinal tract so there aren’t the normal diet pill side effects (shakes, jitters, sleeplessness, etc…).
  • You have all the tools available to be successful.
  • In the grand scheme of things its relatively inexpensive compared to other diet programs.

Here’s what I’m not sure about-

  • Taking a diet pill. It’s not my style.
  • Treatment effects.

I’ve decided to share bits of this journey with you because:

  • I will have gluten free meal plans to share.
  • You may be wondering about treatment effects and if this is right for you.
  • It might be pretty darn funny… (if you’ve read about the treatment effects you’ll understand why).

The plan says to start on your reduced fat/calorie diet about three days prior to starting the pills. So, that’s what I’m doing today. I’m planning meals and snacks while trying to calculate how my coffee (I like sweet creamers) calculates in. On a side note, I just noticed my newest bottle of CoffeeMate Hazelnut creamer is labeled as GLUTEN FREE. I love when companies recognize the importance of that labeling!

I’m on a 1400 calories/ 48 grams of fat per day plan. This requires that I maintain a moderate activity level (like walking 2 miles in 30 minutes each day).

Here’s what I ate for lunch today:

Photobucket

Pasta, Tomato Sauce, Meatballs, Mushrooms + Cheese

1 cup pasta= 210 cal + 1 gram fat

1/2 cup tomato sauce= 50 cal + 1 gram fat

4 chicken meatballs= 140 cal + 9 grams fat

1 Tbs. shredded cheese = 22 cal + 1.8 grams fat

1/2 cup mushrooms sauteed with fat free pan spray (8 cal + .1 gram fat)

Total= 420 cal + 12.9 grams fat

For dinner I might have something like this with a green salad and non-fat dressing or I might add a dessert of Nancy’s Nonfat Organic Vanilla Yogurt + frozen berries.

There are a couple items I need to add to our pantry- reduced fat peanut butter (looking for a natural variety), reduced fat margarine and reduced calorie syrup. This may disrupt my completely natural (with the exception of my coffee creamer) normal diet.

I won’t be able to share any treatment effects for a few days, since I haven’t yet started the capsules.

coleman_meatballs_italparm

Check out Coleman Natural Chicken Meatballs. They are fabulous, natural and GLUTEN FREE.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in GF Shopping, Nuff Said, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ALLI?!?!?!?!

  1. I have a feeling that you know your body well enough to know what is right for you…just be careful.

  2. So I am and have been tempted to try Alli. However, to be honest, I am scared to death I will wind up pooping myself somewhere. haha.

Leave a Reply

