Momentary Freak Out

So, way back in the Summertime, I purchased my domain name… looksgoodinpolkadots.com.  Awesome, yeah?  I also purchased webhosting… so that domain has a place to live.

Then I realized it wasn’t so simple to just start using it.  See, in the beginning, I thought I could buy the domain name and just have it replace the .wordpress.com thing.  If I can do that, I don’t know how.  And I must admit, I only gave it a mediocre go.

I want to have my site designed all spiffy and such so that when you visit my own domain name, it will be a REAL blog looking hot and not hosted here.  That costs $$$$ and despite my frequent good intentions, I never have the extra green to spend on something that isn’t a priority (like food, you know?).

Well, just a moment ago, my dashboard says “you’re just a step away from activating looksgoodinpolkadots.com”  I’m all sweet and clicked on it… DUMB.  What happened was my adorable (and full of content) wordpress blog redirected automatically to my not designed and lacking in content site.  I spend a frantic 60 seconds trying to fix it.  *whew* That was scary.

So if anyone is really bloggy smart and wants to tell me how to make all this work, I’m all for it.  If not, I’ll let it sit until I have some fundage available to get my site up and running as it should be.

Cheers!

Oh… over here in the hills outside PDX, we have 8, maybe 10 inches of snow and its still falling.  This hasn’t ever happened in my lifetime.  The Valley in Oregon doesn’t get more than an inch or two each year… granted our home is now about 1000 feet above sea level and no longer on the valley floor… but still.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Momentary Freak Out

  1. You are probably techie enough to get a program and do it yourself…

  2. I can help you. You have to pick a blog program to upload and you may not be at the right place holding it for you. We host our own wordpress blog for business which give us plenty of choices. You can also choose quite a few others.

    WordPress is still the cheapest. Hosting it yourself will allow you to use one of the THOUSANDS of templates. I’m moving my personal blog out soon so I can run adds. I’m getting some good hits.

    Our business blog is http://www.valustar.net\wordpress. We have total control over it. There are other programs out there too that you can upload.

    If you want to stay on wordpress now, you can “fake it.” My blog is http://www.eileensimpson.com but is actually hosted by wordpress right now. You can use google to get emails ***@lookinggoodinpokadots.com

    Let me know how I can help you.

  3. PS, $6.95/month for places that host wordpress so you can design it yourself.

Leave a Reply

