What It Means To Be Mommy

As I mentioned in my previous post, I had surgery Friday.  Well, maybe it was more of a surgical procedure.  Whatever, I had anesthesia and was in the O.R.

Anyway,  it was an out patient procedure (as was the previous surgery in August).   After I left (with my husband-chaperone), we had to stop at Costco to fill my prescriptions.  I had two written ones, one refill and one called in that the Doc forgot to write before I left day surgery.  Evidently that was asking for trouble.  It took two hours to get them filled.  Two hours of me standing on the cement floor in Costco while I’m still feeling the effects of anesthesia and having certain parts of my body hacked at.  Good times.

Let’s back up for a minute… before Costco we had to stop at MacForce because it was only minutes from the surgery center and Hubs had to get in on a deal that was this week only.  Then I needed FOOD.  I hadn’t eaten since 6:30 the day before and I was badly in need of nourishment and coffee.  After all that, we made it to Costco for a quick prescription fill up.

So it’s now about four hours since leaving the surgery center and I’m still not home in my bed.  Hubs mentions what a trooper I am, that he’d be whining for his bed by then (which he would be, because he’s a man).

We finally arrived back home and I took one look at my carpet.  It was DISGUSTING, since it had not yet been vacuumed that day (we have a St. Bernard, two cats and FIVE kids mind you!).  So I spent close to an hour vacuuming.  Um, yeah…

Then I played with the baby for a bit (the one I take care of during the day… TeenGirl had minded her and L.C. while I was in surgery).  Finally I laid down on the couch snuggling Baby A for about 40 minutes before Oregon Dad arrived back home with the kids.  Then I had to get the girls ready for dance class, do the Baby A exchange with her father and spend two hours at the dance studio.

Needless to say, by the time we were back home (around 7PM) I was wiped.  I would have skipped dance class, but it was the last practice before K2 is in the Nutcracker, so it was mission essential so to speak.

I climbed into a hot tubby and then into my bed… I was snoozing by 8:30PM.  Too bad I woke up several times because I was in pain and wouldn’t take the vicodin my Doc prescribed.   They wouldn’t listen when I said I have kids to take care of and wouldn’t be taking the pain meds.  I filled it just in case… but Aleve was all the pain reliever in my body.

Did I mention, my discharge  papers (signed by my husband) stated that I should only eat VERY light foods, have sugary beverages to combat nausea, that I shouldn’t drive for at least 24 hours and that I was to rest?

Um, yeah… none of that happened, unless you count a chocolate coffee a sugary beverage… 🙂

Oh… and back to what it means to be a mommy (and a wife)?  It means you get no time off, not even a sick day for surgery.  Unless they keep you in the hospital, you are back to work the minute you leave.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What It Means To Be Mommy

  1. We have a cabinet full of pain meds that we never take. There just isn’t a time we can do it. I have just stopped going to the doctor, because that is all that they do…pain meds.

    I DO NOT wish to trade places with you…maybe a roll of duct tape would help!

    Hope you don’t kill someone!

  2. jenefur says:

    Man, I feel for you girl. Get into bed and call in sick for Pete’s sake!

  3. Anne Luther says:

    I hope you get a chance to catch up on rest. I remember what it was like being a mom and having no time to be sick. When my second child was born we were only at the hospital a few hours. I came home and was taking care of my 3 year old, my new baby and my MIL. She came to help me but got sick. My husband went and took a nap – what is wrong with this picture?

    Rest and feel better – hope the surgery was successful.

  4. Oh man, you need to slow down girl. Hair on the carpet?? If I was out west, I’d come by, drug you and send you to bed.

    I never know why the heck surgery centers just don’t send you home with a few days of pills. I suppose that is too logical.

  5. PS, a person in pain does not heal as well. Take the Vicodin and trust your husband.

  6. Tenille says:

    Wish I was there to vacuum for you! Of course, then I’d have to explain to my family why I never clean our floors. 🙂 Feel better soon!

  7. You guys are so sweet… Thanks for all the well wishes!

    I’m feeling much better… super sleepy, but that’s to be expected.

Leave a Reply

