What I Did Today… And A BLOGIVERSARY????

Photobucket

I made this adorable little apron.  It was my first go at apron making although I’ve had a couple patterns sitting around for nearly a year.

 

My goal this Holiday Season is to make as many handcrafted gifts as possible.  This is one meant for a very special little girl.   I’ve decided to try and use up all my (stacks and stacks) of fabric which I have been collecting for years before I buy any new fabric. 

 

This little apron took me about 4 hours today.  What I really hate about sewing (and is necessary) is all the pressing.  I had to fold the seams under 1/8 inch, then a 1/4 inch, press and stitch.  This is so you don’t see an unfinished back seam.  I can tell you it’s far from perfect, but it will certainly please a little bug.  My girls all want one… *Sigh* I better get to work! 

 

The patterns I have cover several sizes (kids size 2-preteen, adults small-xlarge).  I didn’t want to hack up my pattern and not be able to use it again, they ran almost $11 each.  So, I got out the roll of kids crafting paper and traced over the pattern with a black felt pen.  Viola’, a new pattern.  I probably violated some copy right law or something.  Bah. 

 

Now I need to make some grown up aprons.  Now that I have the basics down I don’t think they will take too long. 

 

I’m in lust over a new sewing machine… maybe Santa will bring it to me. 🙂

 

Oh, I just realized yesterday was ONE YEAR since my first post on this lovely little blog.  Woohoo.  I never would have imagined that I would have averaged just over 2k in visits each month.  My heart is pouring over with love for all of you!

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Kids, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I Did Today… And A BLOGIVERSARY????

  1. I am SO going to turn you into the pattern police.

    Older ladies guard those patterns with their lives and that damned paper is so thin. Having them around kids is dangerous.

  2. jenefur says:

    You crafty little thing, you! Great job girl. 🙂

  3. Very cute. Have you tried to do these with Iron On seams? I had to make something quick once and had no thread, but iron on tape. Worked great.

    Ah, I miss crafts…I need to do more. Thanks for sharing!

  4. What a cute apron! Excellent job. I hope that Santa grants your wish – you could make these and sell them. Happy Blogoversary!

Leave a Reply

