‘Tis The Season…

img_5586Tomorrow, I will post a memorial post.  It is a sad memory of Thanksgiving for our family, but one we cannot forget.  Because of that, I felt compelled to post a wonderful memory first.

Thanksgiving holds good memories, I learned I was expecting my first child on Thanksgiving day nine years ago. Our Family gathered around the table in my Grandmothers house every year.  Thanksgiving 1999 had us standing up around our dinner table that stretched from the dining room into the living room, My Grandfather led us in prayer and then we went around the table Thanking God for our precious things. While we stood there, a voice inside me spoke so that only I could hear and said, “Thank you God for this Baby”.  I didn’t have children yet and had spent a long road trying to conceive, God told me to be Thankful because my baby was on the way.  As I drove back to my apartment, I stopped at Walgreens, Thankful that they were open and purchased a pregnancy test.  I went home, alone because my husband was at work, took the test and cried.  I then called my Mother before I even told my husband and managed to tell her through my tears that she was going to be a Grandma.  This is one of those moments in my faith that has really stood out for me, reminded me that God has my back. 

The Holiday season has always been a difficult one for me.  It brings back the memories of growing up, and those aren’t good memories.  I believe that’s why I discovered my much desired first child’s impending arrival on Thanksgiving Day.  It was a way for God to help me realize that good things happen. 

Today, I rejoice in my children… Kyler and Kaylee who are 8, Kenzie who is 6 and Kelsey who is 3.  I rejoice in my wonderful and loving husband, for without him I would still be lost.  I rejoice in my sister, 16yo Teengirl who has become a surrogate daughter for me.  I rejoice in my Mother, who has had a difficult life and is facing an even more difficult death from ALS. I rejoice in my friends, those who share my life, guide me, support me and allow me to be there for them as well.  I rejoice in the family that God has given to me and in the strength he has given me to handle good times and bad.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Family, Kids and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Tis The Season…

  1. I stand up and tip my hat to you.

    We all need reminders that there are incredible things on this earth to be thankful for. And, even though they do not make us forget about some of the bad ones, they can help us get through each with a little smile.

Leave a Reply

