I Love You So Much…

I made MEATBALLS.

Photobucket

Let’s backtrack here for a minute. I was (once upon a time) a vegetarian. I HATE raw meat… it grosses me out.  And yet, I found myself in the kitchen with 2 lbs of raw ground turkey.  Better yet, my hands were all up in that raw turkey.  Gah.

Oh, and these are Gluten Free… though you’d never know by the taste.

For a super large batch (enough to eat tonight and freeze for later, it’s like the Costco of home cooking) you need…

2 lbs Ground Turkey

2 cups cabbage/carrot mix (I use a packaged coleslaw mix sans dressing)

2 cans mushrooms- drained

4 eggs

1 cup your choice- cooked rice, crumbled lays potato chips, GF bread crumbs (we used rice in these)

3/4 cup organic Italian dressing

3 Tb. Wheat Free Tamari (or soy sauce if you aren’t gluten free)

Fresh Ground Pepper, Garlic Powder, Dried Minced Onions and Kosher Salt  (I used about a tablespoon of each)

Mix everything up (with your hands…ew).  Form into smallish meatballs.  Place in a large frying pan with about 1/4 -1/2 inch HEATED canola oil (I used medium heat for nearly everything).  Fry, while rolling meatballs around until cooked through.  When I made larger meatballs, they tended to flatten in the pan as well as fall apart easier.

Serve.  We enjoyed ours with a mound of rice (in the rice cooker) and creamy mushroom sauce (oh you want that recipe too…)

The easy way to have a creamy mushroom sauce is to open up some cream of mushroom soup, we like Health Valley Organic.  Heat it up and pour it on top.

I have some homemade creamy mushroom and chicken soup recipes.  I’ll get them up soon.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Family, Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Love You So Much…

  1. Well…I could handle that!

  2. Yummy, this went in my recipe book!

Leave a Reply

