Halloween… and a CONTEST

Photobucket

This year, Halloween is a non school day. Evidently it is a Teacher inservice. The kids were bummed that they wouldn’t have their normal costume party/parade and junk food fest at school. So, we decided to invite friends over for a “Let Your Light Shine” Costume Party.

I am the Mama who would completely bypass Halloween if I wasn’t overridden by Hubs and the kiddos. They love it. My rule is to keep it nice and clean. We don’t do any gore or nastiness. The kids all have to wear nice costumes and we have to be able to create them from stuff we have or can find easily at second hand shops/garage sales/families closets/etc…

On the costume front, we are going to have a Football player (wearing his uniform)= ZERO cost. A cowgirl, I rounded up a pair of used red boots at Goodwill for a few bucks and a hat for $1, we are adding this to a pair of jeans, white shirt and cord vest already in her closet. A kitty, we have a pair of black pants and a black turtleneck (I thought I would be getting sweats for this costume, guess I don’t have to!), I will be adding a pair of felt ears to a headband and making a tail out of an old maribou boa. Little Critter is going to be a Princess, she will wear her “fancy” dress from last Easter adorned with a wand and tiara. Since we have a house full of girls, there are lots of tiaras around. I will make the wand from a wooden cake dowel and some pretty ribbons. TeenGirl has the best costume of all… it was my grand idea (which I probably stole from somewhere but cannot remember where), I’m not going to tell you in advance. Wait for pictures.

Mommy must come up with a costume. Since I am hosting this kid fest… I doubt I will come out unscathed if I don’t dress up. I’m open to suggestions. Keep our rule in mind… already own, found, recycled or very cheaply obtained at resale shops (though this one is a last resort!). I’m moderately crafty and decent with a sewing machine (but I won’t be whipping out a grand princess gown or anything in the next week). If you give me the suggestion for the costume I actually use, I will send you a fabulous prize of a reusable coffee mug which is burgundy and reads, “Saving the world one cup at a time.” Also included: a package of shade grown, fair trade, organic ground coffee AND a canister of organic, fair trade TEA.

Leave your costume idea in the comments. This one won’t be random, unless I don’t like any of your ideas. Then I will use a random number generator to pick the winner.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Kids, Win Me and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Halloween… and a CONTEST

  1. meg says:

    you could do the ol’ stand-by-
    a housewife…curlers, jammies, slippers and robe!
    or
    a jailbird…black-n-white striped hat, shirt with your prisoner #, striped pants and a ball-n-chain (and handcuffs!)
    or
    a football fan- I’m sure your hubby’s got SOMETHING you could wear!
    if I think of any more I will let you know!

  2. How about Princess Leia? A white dress, big belt, and your hair is long enough. 🙂

  3. eileen says:

    according to my 4 year old i should be cheese. “cheese would be a great costume mommy!’ how can i argue with a kid who decided his costume would be a radio??

    then again, two minutes ago in the kitchen he said i look like the girl on the sunmaaid raisin box. that could be a cute costume.

    you can always fall back on the word play costumes. one year i pinned smarties candies to my jeans and went as a smarty-pants. then there is always the black-eyed P. pin a paper cut-out P to your chest and blacken one eye.

    the family fun web page is great for quickie ideas like those.

    can’t wait to see what your teen came up with. have a great party!!

  4. joz1234 says:

    Tin Man from the wizard of oz…can you say Aluminum foil and a funnel?

  5. Pingback: Politics Getting You Down? « Looks Good in Polka Dots

Leave a Reply

