Moving On

Photobucket

It looks like Little Critter’s foray into Ballet is over for now. Last Wednesday on the way to class, she started screaming and demanding to go back home because she didn’t want to “go to balwaaaah”. So, we went back home. Each week seems to be getting a little more difficult which makes me think she isn’t quite ready.

We also started social and communication preschool today which is only offered for two hours on Mondays and Wednesdays and conflicts with her dance class. The preschool class with specially trained staff and occupational therapists is a much higher priority at this point.

So, for now, our little ballerina will have to dance at home. I think this is the right decision. In the Summer we will try again with some short class sessions.

As for Preschool… Little Critter was excited to go to school. When we met with the staff last week, she spent the entire hour playing with a magnetic ballerina puzzle. This morning, she repeatedly told me, “I’m not going to school, me wants to stay home.” Once we were at school, she headed straight for the ballerina and played contentedly. The report was pretty good when I picked her up, except for the part where she spotted me out the window and started screaming “My Mummy is here, I leaving… Nooooo, my Mummmmmmmy is out there I has to weave NOW.” I quickly hid against the wall until it was time to leave. After class she informed me, “I never going back there.” Let’s hope Wednesday goes as well.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Kids and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Moving On

  1. I too, only play ballerina at home. She’ll be alright.

  2. Meg says:

    morethanelectrician- you are hilarious!

    I just had a conversation with my big sis today (the schoolteacher) about child age 3 and whether or not she should do swimming, preschool, etc. Haven’t made any decisions yet, but I now know if I do decide to take my daughter out of any of it, it’s not a big deal and I can stop stressing over it.

    You, Me- same boat. huh!

  3. Yes yes… MTAE is a funny man. 🙂 I’m wondering if little miss knows you sneak around in her dress up clothes when she isn’t looking? Hmmm? I needed that image today.

    Meg- yep, somehow these little munchkins will be just fine and we will survive all this worry we heap upon ourselves!

Leave a Reply

