Rain

Thankfully the rain held until after our Soccer game last night.  We have one game left this season and I am praying that it will also be dry!  We haven’t had to sit through a rainy game yet.  🙂

Once we were home last night, the rain started pouring.  We lay in bed with the window open just a bit, listening to the sweet, soothing sounds of the rain falling.  My new lawn still has bare patches, so this combination of 60 degree weather and rain should do it good!

While I listened to the soothing sound of the rain, I couldn’t fall asleep because all I could think about was the nine totes of recycling sitting at the top of my driveway getting drenched.  Images of rain soaked paper and cardboard flooded my vision… I even had a moment of terror in which I dreamed that all of our recycling ended up in the TRASH because it was so wet.

Recycling is a big deal to me.  I put up with those totes of paper, plastic, tin and glass sitting under our second table in the kitchen for a full month.  It sits there, staring, mocking, taunting me… “why won’t you make a recycling run?”.  *sigh* Those totes don’t understand gas prices and the 25 miles round trip to the recycling center.

This morning all my recycling is gone and now I only have empty totes staring back at me.  Oregon Dad managed to get the recycling from dinner last night and breakfast this morning (2 mandarin orange tins, an EnviroKids Cereal box and a milk jug) out before pick up.

I was just summoned from my laptop to the bathroom my a screeching three year old, “Mommy… Mooooommy… Mommy… I need you…”.  So I walked into the bathroom where Little Critter is parked on the toilet with her jeans off (laying on the floor and Mommy is silently praying, “please don’t let those be touching anything yucky.”).  She grabs my hand and cries “It hurts… hold my hand… the other one too… squeeze my hand… HARD!”  This is our daily ritual so LC can poo.  It’s great fun.  Every time we go 30 seconds without any action, I ask “are you done?”.  She’s probably tired of hearing that.  At one point, LC has hold of both my hands and is rocking back and forth… she fell off the toilet.  You can imagine the mess a little, sliding bottom makes in the midst of doing what must be done.  Awesome.  Someday she will hate me for writing this.

Fall is here… enjoy the sounds of the rain pattering outside and the beautiful colors of the fallen leaves.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Being Green, Kids, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rain

  1. That is too bad about the bathroom issues. There is so much fruit eaten in this household that it isn’t too big of an issue. Mom also has “issues” and the childen’s diet reflects the things she “needs”.

  2. You crack me up.

    Our kids eat a TON of fruit… the issues in this house come from Celiac Disease. Good times.

  3. asdmommy says:

    Oh dear. Poor thing. And I know exactly what you are talking about with poo everywhere – C is in this phase where he slides forward on the seat so that he can look backward at what’s happening. Oy.

    Ugh. Wish I had some advice on the whole thing. Just understanding coming from me!

Leave a Reply

