What I Learned Today

Now that I have a reason for why Little Critter behaves in the ways she does, I am learning things about her that I didn’t notice before.

As we were driving to Ballet class this morning, LC and I were listening to the radio.  She says to me, “Are we picking D up after school?”  I replied, “Yes, we are picking D up at Kindergarten after Ballet.”  LC’s response, “WHAT?  I can’t hear you?”  I repeated the answer.  “What, I can’t hear you?” I repeated the answer again.  A third time.  I said, “LC!!!!” and repeated the answer.  On the fourth time we gave up.

A few minutes later, another question came up and we went through the same thing again.  On the third repeat this round, LC says, “MOM turn the radio OFF!”.  Then it clicked.   With the radio on and my facing away from LC she really couldn’t hear what I was saying.  She wasn’t being ornery or silly, she just couldn’t filter out the radio from what I was saying.   Eye opener number one.

During Ballet class, LC participates when she wants to.  At times she steps back from the group, sometimes making facial expressions that seem inappropriate (such as scrunching up her face or looking angry or sad for no apparent reason).   As I watched her through my newly opened eyes, I saw the reactions in the context they occurred.  For instance, if the other girls were in too close proximity to LC, she moved away or started a fake sounding cry.  At times there was just too much activity all at once, especially during the free or more active dance times and LC stood with her arms crossed.

On the way home from class, we played LC’s favorite car game.  I spy.  LC knows her colors, but this game takes on her own rules.  LC says, “I spy something PURPLE.”  I reply, “My shirt?”  LC screeches, “Noooooooooooooo”,  “That car?” “Noooooooooooo”, “Those flowers”, “Noooooooo”, “Ok, LC I give up what is it?”, “YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”.   Heh, but Mom’s not purple.  LC says “yes you are!” followed by a fit of laughter.   Repeat the same scenerio for every color imaginiable.  When I guess, “ME?” LC replies “Noooooooooooooooo”… until I give up then its “YOU!”.

I had the wonderful opportunity to speak with a fellow Mom at the Ballet class today.  She spent many years as a Special Education Teacher and worked closely with kids on the Autism Spectrum.  She gave me a lot of encouragement and feedback and reminded me that LC wasn’t trying to be manipulative or naughty, that’s just the way she is programmed.  This is what I need to focus on.  There is nothing wrong with this child of mine, she is just programmed differently and together we have to figure out what works for her and what doesn’t.

One day at a time.  One experience at a time.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Kids and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I Learned Today

  1. Sunny says:

    I read a story once (can’t remember if it was true or fictional) about a grandmother who saw everything in different colors. People, things, ideas…she felt they had colors associated with them. Maybe your daughter is experiencing this but can’t quite vocalize it yet. And, it wasn’t just blue makes me feel good kind-of stuff. Tried a Google search but couldn’t find what I was thinking of. Anyways, I think you are approaching this well!

  2. mamajil says:

    As the mom of a child that is wired a little bit differently…I would say hang in there and know that your child is wonderfully and fearfully made and even though some days may be exhausting, she was given to you because you are just what she needs!! Good luck in finding what works best for her in all areas!

  3. Meg says:

    You have the cutest stories about that little critter of yours! Someday our kids will be grown, the house will be silent and we will miss all of this!

  4. allergymom says:

    How important do you think diagnosis is? I have wondered for a few years now if my youngest might have ADHD but can’t afford the testing. Mostly she is just extremely active and talkative and she struggles a little academically. She also seems to have a bit of a violent streak, not dangerous, just a little unsettling to the rest of our pacifist family. Do you think that simply dealing with each of her little differences using motherly instinct is enough? I know you are new to this game yourself, but your post really opened my eyes and I’m just looking for another mothers opinion.

  5. goodmum says:

    Wow! This sounds a lot like my Little Man. He too has trouble distinguishing sounds from one another and he too is offended (my word) by others stepping too close to him. It’s always interesting to hear that other kids are affected this way, too.

Leave a Reply

