Food… A Much Loved Topic

Regardless of how busy we get, the Polka Dot House is still eating.

Photobucket

Homemade Asian Chicken Noodle Soup (Gluten Free)… YUM!

Photobucket

Meatless Chili and Cornbread (Gluten Free)

Photobucket

Shrimp Scampi (Gluten Free)

The chicken noodle soup is probably the easiest recipe here: simply place desired amount of chicken (I use frozen, skinless, boneless chicken thighs) in the crockpot with one quart of Pacific Natural Foods Organic Chicken Broth. Cook about 4 hours, until meat can be pulled apart with forks. Transfer to large pan on stove, add another quart of broth. Season as desired (salt, pepper and garlic). Add desired veggies. We use mushrooms, broccoli, carrots and bean sprouts. Add one box gluten free rice noodles (A Taste of Thai). Boil until tender. Serve. This is a favorite in our house and has replaced chicken noodle soup in a can which we can’t have anymore! Cooking the chicken in the crock pot keeps it tender, which is why I prefer this method. I have also made it with precooked rotisserie chicken, I just add skip the pre-cooking part.

Meatless Chili- I used dried beans, so I soaked 1 cup of four varieties overnight (pinto, white, kidney and black). Then I strained the beans, double checked for any non-bean pieces and cooked in vegetable broth for about an hour and a half. Next, I added one large can of diced tomatoes and 2 small cans of tomato paste, 3 garlic cloves- diced, 3 Tbs. dried onions, 2-3 Tbs. Chili Powder (depending on taste), 1/2 tsp cumin and about 4 dashes of hot sauce. Most people also add diced green peppers, but I didn’t have any on hand, so I skipped that part… if you add them, its best to saute with garlic and onion prior to adding to beans. I allowed all this to cook over low heat for about an hour. We enjoyed it with grated cheese, sour cream and a side of cornbread with honey butter.

The easiest Gluten Free Cornbread is to grab a package of Bob’s Red Mill GF Corn Bread Mix. This one we made from scratch- now I can’t find the recipe I used, however it was a standard cornbread recipe, I subbed my GF flour blend for regular flour, coconut milk for milk and added a can of corn. When changing a regular recipe to a GF recipe, a little extra liquid is usually needed.

Honey Butter is simple… we softened some Earth Balance (non-GMO) margarine and mixed in local honey to taste.

The shrimp scampi was from one of Miss. Maggie’s recipes. For a dairy free version, just omit the Parmesan cheese or sub a vegan alternative. We added in some organic green beans, which I had lightly sauteed in butter, salt and pepper first. We always have a bag of frozen shrimp in the freezer, so I use those. Tonight I am making this again, but using a mix of frozen Tilapia and shrimp. This can be served with any gluten free pasta that you like.

Eat well. Be well. Oh, and stop over at Eco Child’s Play to see what I’ve been up to.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Food, Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Food… A Much Loved Topic

  1. Meg says:

    Looks yummy, as usual. Even when I have a good cooking week, I read your blog and you put my cooking to shame. All your talents kinda wears on my self esteem! 😉

  2. You crack me up… I read plenty of other blogs and think, “man, why can’t I cook like that?”. Sometimes it motivates me to cook like that! I am a simple girl and you will never see me making fancy foods, its just not my style.

    Eat to live… NOT live to eat. 🙂

    But I do love some simple, home made goodness!

    Jamie

Leave a Reply

