Teaching My Children About Tragedy

Unfortunately, today is a day of tragedy.  There is no changing that, 9/11 will forever be imprinted on our minds and our hearts.

Last night, I found myself trying to explain to my children 2- 8 year olds, a 6 year old and a 3 year old WHY 9/11 was special.  K-Man and K-2 were only a year old, K3 was in my belly and Little Critter was awaiting us where God keeps unborn babies.

For those of us who sat there, transfixed to our televisions or radios, 9/11 isn’t something we must explain.  It just IS.  Finding the words to make my children understand was difficult.  How do I explain that this day was so horrible?  How can I make them understand how I and nearly every other American shed thousands of tears for people we never met, for our Great Country that was attacked?  How do I teach them about how LUCKY we are to be American and how important it is for us to band together- God, Country, Family?  How can I help them feel the emotion in the Pledge of Allegiance?

Is simply leading by example enough?  Will they learn by hearing me say “Thank You” every time I come upon a man or woman in uniform?  Will they grow up with a love for their Country as I did, where the words of The Star Spangled Banner and My Country Tis of Thee ring through their heads and bring joy to their mouths?  Will theses precious children of mine grow up to love and respect all the privilege and wonder that is ours just because we are American?  Will they understand how important it is to protect those rights?

For now, my children want to know “how the bad guys took our planes?”, “were those towers the tallest buildings in the WORLD?”, “why did they do it?”.  I’ve done my best to explain this day to them and I can only pray that as they grow, the gravity will become real for these children who didn’t experience the fear, the loss, the desperation, the HOPE.

Today, I remember 9/11 and all those who died, were injured, fought to save others, lost loved ones, our military, police and emergency workers.  I remember with tears in my eyes, all the pain that was suffered because others hate our Country as much as WE LOVE IT.

America, I PLEDGE MY ALLEGIANCE TO YOU… one Nation under GOD.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Kids and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Teaching My Children About Tragedy

  1. Kelsey says:

    This has been one of the BEST 9/11 posts I have read. You hit the nail on the head with what I have been trying to say to Dennis and to people who ask what Im telling him.

  2. Melinda says:

    Good for you for trying to teach your kids about it, it is important and giving them a little information now is the best thing to do. It’s like you want them to know but not scare or confuse them. I had the same challenges myself.

    BTW, passing on a little something for ya at my blog.

  3. It sounds like you’re doing a great job—teaching your kids everyday by example and that’s all we can really do…

    How often do you hear people say, “I sound just like my mother,” or “just like my father?”

    That’s because what was passed down to them as children becomes ingrained in them it becomes who they are—eventually.

    Good work!

    IrascibleChef

Leave a Reply

