Rest In Peace

There seems to be a theme around here lately. We just lost our second beloved pet this year. And this one is much harder to take because Peanut was only a year old. When our dog, Dakota passed a few months ago… we were ready (as ready as you can be, anyway). She was 14 and had a long, good life. She was sick and it was time.

Poor Peanut was out playing with the other cats. Lately it has become a battle to keep our indoor cats indoors. Every time the door opens, they dart out. But they always come back in.

Tonight, some guy was driving way too fast in his souped up hot rod. He hit P right in front of our house. He didn’t stop. Oregon Dad and I were sitting on our porch, so we knew who it was and you can bet I walked up to his house and had a few choice words to say.

The kids are all very sad. I am trying to keep it together. I explained that now Peanut is okay, she is in Heaven playing with Dakota.

Photobucket

“She sure liked laying in the sun.”- Kyler

Photobucket

“Peanut was the best kitty ever.”- Kelsey

Photobucket

“Peanut was my first kitty.”- Kaylee

Photobucket

“Do animals get new owners in Heaven? I hope they are nice to her.” -Kenzie

Peanut was my cat.  Oregon Dad and I picked her out at the animal shelter last summer.  She stole our hearts, even though Oregon Dad claims to not like cats.  Lately she has decided to spend her time sleeping under the bed, on my side.  I always know where to find her.   Somehow knowing she is in Heaven playing with Dakota doesn’t make me feel any better.  I needed her here to snuggle.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Rest In Peace

  1. Miss Nelson says:

    Sorry to hear about the loss of your Peanut. 😦

  2. mamajil says:

    Oh my goodness, I am so sorry!!
    lots of hugs!

  3. Tenille says:

    I’m so, so sorry for your loss! :*(

  4. Balconygal says:

    I’m so sorry to hear this. We just lost our beloved Sammy the Cat this summer, too, and it took me many days to stop crying. Sending big hugs!

    As an aside, I’m more than miffed that the guy didn’t stop. It was an accident. Own it. Running makes you look like the biggest ass. Glaring daggers in his general direction!

  5. Sunny says:

    I lost a cat this way too and dread that it might happen to the two we have now. They too decided that being solely inside was unacceptable. Hard to let them have their free will. So sorry for your lose.

  6. Thank you everyone for stopping in and sharing your kind words. Honestly losing our dog was easier because she was old and we were prepared. This was sudden and horrible. It sucks. My 8yo daughter has been crying all morning!

  7. eileen says:

    It’s so hard to lose a beloved pet. And when it could have been prevented it’s so much harder. I’m sure I would have had some choice words for that young man as well. Please accept our sympathy–the Schultz Family.

  8. What a tough month. It is crappy to have to explain this to the little ones!

  9. Meg says:

    I am so sorry about kitty. The comments from the kids break my heart! Hugs to all~

Leave a Reply

