Green Back To School, In A Nutshell

Have you entered the CONTEST????

You’ve probably read my posts on going back to school. We had the Lunchbox post, School Supplies, and Clothing/Backpacks/etc

This morning I stumbled across this letter to your child’s teacher to explain WHY you dared to deviate from their recommended brand list.

Sending a letter on the first day of school along with my “different” supplies is sure to land me in the category of “too much work parent” (that is the parent that is going to need a lot of communication, explanation, extra time, etc…) And heck, I AM that parent… so whatever!

If you find Zip-Top style baggies on your child’s supply list, check out these Bio-Bags. More expensive? Yes. Worth it because they break down instead of living in the landfill for 1000 years? Yes.

I’m almost sad that back to school shopping is complete in our house. I do love this time of year!

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Being Green, Family, Kids and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Green Back To School, In A Nutshell

  1. Another wonderful benefit to homeschooling. We surely do not do enough for our part of the environment.

    (hangs head in shame)

    I do use ziplock bags to ice down my knees, but I don’t see the need to throw them away, so I shouldn’t be put in hell for that…

  2. We won’t banish you to the furthest reaches of hell, we will however suggest you invest in one of those nifty, REUSABLE ice packs. ‘Nuff said!

    There are sooooo many reasons to homeschool. Alas, Oregon Dad hasn’t caved yet.

    Cheers!
    Jamie

  3. But those things do not fit the contour of my knee. Do they make a knee shaped ice pack?

  4. Kelsey says:

    Thanks for linking me the letter! Oh and those bags I need to order some!

Leave a Reply

