Back To School The Earth Savvy Way

Come on Ride the Train… Kelsey over at My Sweet Life is hosting a Blog Train, and its gonna be fun!

I am going in for a minor day surgery on Friday, so I am scheduling several posts in advance. I have no clue how I will be feeling in the days following my procedures (I say procedures because I am actually having several things done at once. Ugh.) I have decided to focus on Going Back to School, Earth Friendly Style this week. Today’s post covers Earth Friendly Lunches (which hopefully equals HEALTHIER lunches as well).

Our Laptop Lunch Systems arrived Monday evening and we were uber-excited (I may have been a tad more excited than the kiddos, but they were definitely thrilled). The first thing Oregon Dad said as I unpacked the kits was, “I wish there was more than one lidded container.” Ah-ha… you happen to have a super smart wife who ordered an extra set of the inner containers for each lunch box. So, each of the kids have two lidded containers if needed (and two dip containers) and we have back ups if something gets lost. I cannot wait to pack the kids’ first lunches… we will give the boxes a practice run prior to school starting so that everyone knows how to open them. So far my only wish/change I would request is that we had the option of selecting to receive only one of the Laptop Lunch User Guides. I have no need for three of these, so let’s save a tree.

Photobucket

My challenge for this school year is to use these nifty lunch kits to avoid ALL manner of packaged foods. I hear by vow to never send a packaged granola bar, juice pack, yogurt cup or other packaged treat in my child’s lunch. Waste not, Want not… isn’t that how the saying goes?

Also in the mail this week… our Klean Kanteen Kolors. I ordered 12oz sport top Kanteens in pink and blue for the school age kids and an 18oz Stainless Kanteen for TeenGirl (who is being homeschooled this year). Mean Mommy came out and said, “You cannot use these until school starts.” Then I changed my mind. That would have been beyond cruel. 🙂

Photobucket

One of our many missions this school year is to make our own flavored waters (this is a simple process, simply infuse filtered water with fruit/citrus/mint/etc… for about 24 hours and strain). The kiddos will get a kanteen of flavored water each morning. This will save us $$$$ as we will no longer buy the Kirkland brand vitamin waters, juice packs or milk boxes for lunches. Isn’t it great how often saving Planet Earth = Saving Money?

Another challenge is to find snack type foods to put in the kids lunch boxes that will rival their friends colorful, packaged fun junk. Last year, we accomplished this in an all-natural way by including fruit leathers, clif kids bars and small cartons of organic milk. This year I will be sending garden salads with dried cranberries, crumbled goat cheese and candied walnuts along side homemade blue corn chips with mango salsa and carrots with peanut butter & agave dip.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Being Green, Gluten Free Recipes, Kids and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back To School The Earth Savvy Way

  1. Tenille says:

    🙂 Your kids are so lucky!

  2. Kelsey says:

    I have everything goes OK! Those lunch boxes are too neat!

  3. Our kids are lucky… and a bit spoiled. 🙂
    These are the new lunch systems for the next three years or more! So, they are excited today and will probably get bored of looking at them eventually!

Leave a Reply

