Blackberries

Don’t forget to enter to win the Back To School Package. Contest ends 12:01 AM PST August 1, 2008.

Sunday night we visited a family friend’s farm and plucked a couple large bowls full of Blackberries and a giant bowl full of lush, green apples. Mmmmmm.

We came home and made our first batch of Blackberry jam, now nestled quietly on the shelf next to Junes strawberry preserves.

Photobucket

Oregon Dad squeezed and squashed to get just the right amount of fruit pulp through the cheesecloth, every surface in our kitchen was covered with red juice and seeds. He and I are getting better at this jam making business, considering no splatter burns occurred.

Photobucket

Once the jam was finished and turned upon their lids to seal, I embarked on a new endeavor… Blackberry Cornbread Muffins. Oh My.

Photobucket

I wanted to make simple blackberry muffins, however, every recipe I came across called for fine ground cornmeal. At present, I only have a bit of coarse ground cornmeal in the pantry that I use for grits and polenta. I could have kept searching or simply made my own recipe that didn’t use cornmeal. But, I’m only somewhat adventurous and I improvised.

Out came a package of Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Cornbread Mix. To the mix I added 12oz (1 and 1/2 cups) Lite Coconut Milk, 3 Tbs. Organic Evaporated Cane Sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp GF Vanilla, 2 Extra Large Eggs at room temperature and 1/3 c. Canola Oil. I mixed this all together by hand using K3’s Ratatouille mixing set (which was a Birthday gift and has since become our dedicated GF set). Once the ingredients were well incorporated, I gently folded in 1 cup of the fresh blackberries. Then I scooped the batter into the muffin pan lined with baking cups using a 1/4 cup measuring scoop and sprinkled the tops with a bit more organic evaporated cane sugar. Into the oven which had been preheated to 350 degrees F for about 19 minutes (I started with 15 minutes, checked doneness and increased in two minute increments).

Photobucket

These muffins were suppose to be for breakfast. I chomped into one for the sake of testing the flavor and texture. After a couple nibbles, Oregon Dad rushed the kitchen and came back with two muffins on a plate topped with butter and drizzled with honey.  (Side note… these are also great with agave nectar or a glaze made with powder sugar and rice milk.)

Oregon Dad is anti-gluten-free eating, so if he likes them… they must be good! (How he scoffed at the idea of blackberry CORNBREAD muffins.)

I have recipes laying in wait for those fabulous green apples. Stay tuned!

Today’s Green Tip- Use fresh, local produce whenever possible. The food is more nutritious because it reaches your table much quicker. Consider these berries, they went straight from the vine, to my sink for a rinse, then into our food. Our jam recipe flash boils the berries quickly, so the fruit retains more of its nutrients. We also know that this food was produced without the use of harmful chemicals.

Be Well. 🙂

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Food, Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blackberries

  1. If I titled a post “Blackberries” it would have more to do with phones than eating!

  2. When I write about my BlackBerry addiction (meaning my phone addiction) I will generally refer to it as a CrackBerry… or other addictive phrase. 🙂 I LIVE on my BB. I have just about killed it though… and get an iPhone once it has gone on to another life. I might be helping that along a bit.

    Cheers!

  3. Lisa says:

    How much cornmeal did you use in the blackberry cornmeal muffins? The recipe sounds good!
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

